Nine Noble Virtues

in #asatru5 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

We have been talking, for quite some time, about ways to live a better life as well as reclaim our identities as unique individuals in a world that forces integration and ”diversity” (I have it in quotes because people are inclined to say diversity means pure inclusion, when in fact that is the exact opposite of diversity).

I'm am here to say that we can celebrate all people's uniqueness, including their heritage, while at the same time being proud of our own ancestors.

My ancestors were European, my wife is European, and my children are European. I'm not ashamed of that fact and in fact, I am proud of it. One thing I love about Steemit is that you get to experience all of the people sharing their culture, I love to see when they are proud of it as well!

How can we preserve our precious last? By taking care of the future, of course.

Now, I want to say that it is my pleasure to share with Steemit the 9 Nobel virtues. These virtues have been compiled by the Asatru Folk Assembly and have been around since the 1970s. I think they are a great guide to live a more honorable life, be a better person, and ultimately raise better children. Our future belongs to our children, and how we raise them will determine the future of the world.

To be perfectly clear, I am 100% for diversity. I love my culture the most (because it's mine), but I also love our world for the amazing and wonderful cultures that reside in it. From the Native Americans, to the ancient Chinese, to the tribes of Africa, all the way to the ancient Sumerians. Each culture has a beautiful and unique history that contributes to humanity and helps to define each and every one of us.

It is the goal of modern religions (Abrahamic religions) to destroy these amazing cultures. It is truly heartbreaking and I hope you all take the time to honor your ancestors and share with your children your own native ways.

Going forward I would like to dedicate a post to each of the following 9 novel virtues and just talk a little bit about what it means to me.

Courage
Truth
Honor
Fidelity
Discipline
Hospitality
Self Reliance
Industriousness
Perseverance

So please, engage with the conversation and let me know about your native people. What were they like? What gods did they worship? What was important to them?

Thanks for stopping and looking forward to hearing from you! Follow along if you would like to see more about the 9 Nobel Virtues.

Photo Source

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Howdy sir badger! I really like that set of virtues listed. I think that should be on the wall of every house and referred to often! Because there is not much virtue of any kind in much of society today it seems to me.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Thank you very much! Love the IOS update!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad you like it!

In case you haven't done so, you could support us by giving us a review on the app store! We would really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Already done! Sorry for the spam today 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a very kind post. Truly like the idea.

Family and tradition are near and dear to me. I really do not know my family's hisory beyond my Grandparents. Not sure of origins at all. I know we have been working class and neither maternal nor paternal side knew about their origins.

As for these virtues....I hope to see some good input on each one. They support the "children learn be example" theory. And I can go on forever about that. My first thought is, can you have some of these without the other? Still thinking on this.

I am sorry to hear that about your families history, but I think that is a common thing nowadays and it's really sad. I think inside each of us we carry the memories of our past ancestors and we can remember certain feelings or experiences that see foreign but genuine. Maybe a fondness of history or farming or unnatural fear of fire... They have already shown in might that ancestral memory exists so I have no doubt the key to remembering our past is with us. Funny you mention the children learn by example I am working on my next post and talking about that! As always thanks for your input!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am sorry to hear that about your families history, but I think that is a common thing nowadays and it's really sad. I think inside each of us we carry the memories of our past ancestors and we can remember certain feelings or experiences that see foreign but genuine. Maybe a fondness of history or farming or unnatural fear of fire... They have already shown in might that ancestral memory exists so I have no doubt the key to remembering our past is with us. Funny you mention the children learn by example I am working on my next post and talking about that! As always thanks for your input!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very good to see this posted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61