You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Asexuality as Obfuscation in Anime: Yuri on Ice

in #asexuality6 years ago

I personally never get the argument that people should all have representation in media. I'd never look at an anime and ask where my Vietnamese representation is because immersion is almost all that I care about in movies and TV. I personally forget that the real world exists and I become nothing more than an observer of this fictional world. I've talked to people about it before, but I've never been convinced of why it matters.

Although, within the context of anime specifically, I felt similarly to what you've mentioned here in the show, "Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid". In that show, Kobayashi played a somewhat similar asexual role as Yuri does in YoI, while Tooru makes attempts at fostering a more intimate relationship.

Kobayashi says that she isn't used to be loved and cherished by people and that she needs more time to get to grips with it. I don't think the message is that asexuality, in this case, is a bug that needs to be fixed. More so that Kobayashi simply grows to appreciate Tooru's presence in her life over time.

It's framed through silly, fantasy, comedy elements, but if you distill their interactions over the course of the show to their core, I feel Kobayashi was one of the best depictions of a lesbian relationship in anime. Not that that's exactly the highest bar ever, but take it for what it is.

Sort:  

Certainly better than Bubblegum Crisis, yes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80