You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What happens when the whales come?

in #asksteem6 years ago

What do you think?

I think you should calm down and stop worrying. Everything's going to be fine, maaan.

I think that as long as certain activities remain transparent, the community will fight any huge amount of gaming that goes on.

Take a retrospective look at the debate that led up to the BCH/BTC split. The Bitcoin community was so fed up with the miners' refusal to activate Segregated Witness that they actually threatened to run alternative client software in order to ignore mining power from miners who would not comply with their demands.

It's the nuclear option for sure, but I expect the same sort of thing to happen to Steem at one or several points in its existence. I expect us to eventually have a large community debate (maybe like the one we're having about bidbots right now) which will eventually lead to a UASF-type situation.

Time will tell.

Sort:  

Maybe I should be more lighthearted, so I can sit back and laugh at the flagging wars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81