AskSteemit #7: What are your thoughts on referral links?

in #asksteemit6 years ago


As someone who's been growing up as a Gamer by heart, I've always wanted to start building my own brand. When I finally had the time to commit to it more to it after studying I looked at the existing platforms like Youtube and Twitch and starting out felt a bit hopeless. There was a lot of competition especially from people making it their full-time job.

Luckily I stumbled upon blockchain around the same time and researching it more and understanding the advantages it brought, I really consider myself being even more lucky that I stuck around and decided to follow its progression instead of what feels now having wasted a lot of time on the existing models trying to get my name out there. As someone said, in the beginning of the internet there wasn't much either and for most people it would take years, even decades to understand its true potential and how unlimited it can be. That's how I started seeing blockchain technology, being at its infancy and growing into a toddler and now probably starting to get to the teens in its technology progression. Of course there is still much to be upgraded, invented and figured out before we move forward but the pace is getting faster and faster the more people get involved.

I decided to wait with my branding, wait for a similar system that was built on blockchain and let me do all those things the others would. Then I stumbled upon Steem. :)

Even though at the beginning it was just a "blogging" site, I already saw it as just the start of something much bigger. The same way as Bitcoin was the first app for blockchains use, I knew that this was a totally different blockchain that enabled Steem to do things differently, much more efficiently and more limitless. Of course it also required a leap of faith much like other cryptos do, hence why the rewards are often much greater if you wait it out. I decided to trust the team working on Steem and that they had the best in mind for the platform and its future. So far I have not been disappointed and the pace its growing in is really good.

I'm saying this considering the damage that Bitcoin has done to the crypto name in general, with all the scams, schemes, losses of customers funds, illegal activity, etc. I still stumble upon people to this day where I mention Bitcoin and they look at me as if I'm crazy, but I can't say I blame them cause most just never got that deep into researching it or just blindly follow news and mainstream media.


To get back to what this post is about, I try to almost never ask people to follow me, upvote my posts or resteem them. After watching videos on youtube for the recent years, I almost find it disgusting how some users keep pushing for likes and subscribers in their videos. It comes off as very desperate and needy, almost like begging. Sure a reminder now and then can be alright, but asking readers to do the few things they themselves can and want to decide on when reading your post... I don't know, feels too much to me.

Considering Steemit itself is soon going to add referrals and possible rewards to getting users to sign up, it got me thinking about referrals to other sites, mainly about blockchain. This would of course be strictly about those where the person getting referred wouldn't lose out on anything from it. That being sites that don't have a big risk of turning out to be shady or insecure, but mainly those that offer advantages to referring others which I hope here on Steemit it will be similar. What I mean by this is that the user getting referred doesn't lose out on value that goes to the person who referred him, instead value is created from the company or the blockchain to reward one or the other or both.

So for such sites I've been thinking about adding referral links after my logo.

What are your thoughts on referral links? Do you mind those that are a win-win for both parties involved?


Leave a comment down below, in these #AskSteemit posts I reward good discussions more than usual.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62205.45
ETH 2999.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79