You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AskSteemit #6: What are your thoughts about the future of Steem?

in #asksteemit6 years ago

I guess I come at this from the non-tech, non-developer side of the table and for me, that question includes what do I think about the future of Steemit, the social content platform?

I think Steem-- the token/currency-- is on a solid path towards a strong future; I see all the apps, sidechains, SMTs and other projects as laying a SOLID foundation for answering the deeper question "What is the purpose of and economic reason for the existence of this cryptocurrency?" which I think will be core to sorting the wheat from the chaff when it occurs to someone that simply using the word "blockchain" is NOT sufficient reason for a currency to "exist."

In two, five, ten? years from now, I think the crypto world will settle into having a small number of "major players" and a veritable ocean of worthless shitcoins... and Steem looks good to be part of that top tier... regardless of whether it's an "inflationary" coin, or not.

As for Steemit? I don't know... an awful lot of front-end work will need to happen if this is seriously going to become a "category changer" to take on the likes of Reddit and Facebook, face-to-face. At the very least, all the major apps will need to be somewhat integrated into the Steemit user interface... a large part of the reason Facebook is as dominant as it is is that you can do everything "on" Facebook... the average social media user isn't going to flock to a platform that requires 17 separate apps to do 17 things... decentralization and its merits notwithstanding.

But you asked about Steem, not Steemit, so I feel pretty good about its future!

Sort:  

Agree very much on this differentiation. Steem I believe has a strong future.

But steemit I am not so sure about. It needs some serious love and attention - and strategic thinking.

Is it okay for the site to be fed to the bots? Can steemhumans rise again to bring it back to where it should be?

It would be a great shame if steemit went the way of Tsu.

And I believe a failing or ailing steemit reflects badly on steem itself.

Steemit must be hot, for the steem to rise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23