AskSteemit: What is your average buying cost of Steem? Mine is 78 cents per Steem.

in #asksteemit5 years ago (edited)

Though I have joined Steemit in August, 2016, I have been buying Steem since June, 2017. I have bought Steem as high as $3 as piece and as low as 22 cents. Yes, I have catched the bottom.

Fortunately, I was able to accumulate 51K steem (stored in several accounts) mainly through purchase, delegation profit and very few from blogging.

average buying cost.png

My average buying cost would be 78 cents (except the work for blogging) which I believe is not bad considering Steem's historical price range at $0.80-$2.00.

I have run out of fiat to buy any further. However, I have a plan to catch another bottom if BTC goes south in higher $2000's range.

AskSteemit: What is your average buying cost of Steem?

Disclaimer: This opinion is not a financial advice, it my personal perspective and opinion. Please seek professionals for financial decisions.

Steemit-engine-ccn.png

Image sources: Most images are open sourced (e.g. Pixabay, Wikimedia etc.) with Creative common license. Some images are used with due courtesy to respected owners.

Thanks for reading.
@riseofth
Cryptominer since 2013, occasional trader and tech blogger

Sort:  

My first bunch was at $3.90 but I have been Dollar Cost Averaging since and have an average of about $0.96 now! I think it can still get lower as I continue. Looking for 25k SP as a target!

Posted using Partiko iOS

96 cents is still a good number. 25K SP is a great target. We all need to gallop these cheap Steem ASAP ;)

Hey, @riseofth.

I'm glad there's at least someone else thinking about things like this. :)

I've bought in different amounts starting as high as $6-something down to around $0.48. The average dollar cost is a little under $1.23. Factoring in what I've earned from blogging, contests, etc., brings it close to $0.90 USD. I do have some fiat left, but it's not enough to affect a whole lot of change unless STEEM drops to $0.10 USD or below.

It is very inspirational journey and I would say, smart strategy. Rather than waiting on price to recover reducing the dollar average cost per Steem through blogging, contest even delegation is the game we can patiently play in this bear market. Crypto-market is extremely volatile and cyclic, both highs and lows are nerve crunching for investors. People can't sell at high due to greed of selling higher and buy at low due to fear of getting further down.

I have another #AskSteemit blog about possible low, high and price swing of Steem. You may find it interesting too:

https://steemit.com/steem/@riseofth/interesting-patterns-in-steem-s-historical-prices-during-mid-of-every-year-along-with-bottom-and-peak

It is a very good price. If BTC reaches $5K which is quite possible in a month or two, Steem could be around 50 cents again (0.0001-0.00012 BTC).

Hmm... I have a friend who has bought Steem as high as $4, then he bought some to lower his buying cost at $1.6. Another friend at 70 cents and 45 cents.

Long term Steem should go much higher than $2 or even $8 :)

Hi, @riseofth!

You just got a 0.21% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95