Censorship...

My father feels the need to try controlling what I say, he says cursing is disrespectful. I just don't understand how, at least I have steemit to share things in my own words. To be honest my father is christian, he has different standards than I do. Although I do not believe in God, he insists that there is and continually pisses me off by asking if I read the bible. At times he literally gives me no choice but to go to church with him. The only thing I don't mind about this, is the hot girls there. I haven't quite been able to truly be myself around my dad ever since he became christian. But even when I first went, I saw through the whole thing and realized there is no reason for me to base what I do in my life on a fictional character. I have better things to do with my time. I believe its about time that I tell my father exactly how I feel, if he doesn't like it, oh well.
Obviously I should do it sooner rather than later.

Sort:  

I don't know how devout your father is, but in my opinion if you tell him that while you personally just cannot believe in God / Jesus as beings that exist that you can understand why he does and admires the steps he has taken to become a better person. Maybe add that while you are secular, state that there are some good morals to be found in the Bible and will follow them (can't think of any off the top of my head).

Of course that could be all just a massive lie and you think it's all horseshit to prey on the ignorant, but it may make your life a hell of a lot easier while you live with him. Just don't be antagonistic and if he's a prick about you not believing in the sky man then you were pretty fucked from the start and just hold out until you become an adult.

Thank you for your concerns and showing interest in my post. I amcurrently an adult, but you are right about me living with him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81