WINNERS! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.9 - "Graveyards"

in #aswcontest6 years ago

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWgraveyardWinners.jpg
The Theme:

This week's theme was = GRAVEYARDS! Photos must be of ABANDONED graveyards/cemeteries.

Guest Judge: @creepycrazylife!



"Picking these wasn't easy, I spent a lot of time writing every name down adding my comments. Some were disqualified for a multiple of reasons. I got down to 17 favorites after a few hours and just had to start cutting until I got to the final 8."

Thank you for the great opportunity of Judging this contest.

Steve
www.amityphotos.com

The results:

1st Place Winner - 10SBD: @intrepidphotos

From judge @creepycrazylife: "This photo alone made me actually start thinking about going to Ireland a lot sooner than I expected."
From the author: "Spooky outlook over a very old graveyard at an abandoned medieval Augustinian Prior’s Tower (middle of the frame), known as Black Castle, that was built in 1210."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@intrepidphotos/the-black-castle


2nd Place Winner - 5SBD: @hangin

From judge @creepycrazylife: "I love the growth of the trees in these pictures. I seen a tree start to swallow a small headstone, but this is just amazing. "
From the author: "This cemetery is called the Jawa Cemetery in Thailand Bangkok is situated about 1km away from behind my apartment block i can actually see it looking over my balcony."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@hangin/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-9-graveyards


3rd Place Winner - 2.5 SBD: @samycfc

From judge @creepycrazylife: "There were many great posts with the coffins torn out and thrown around in Venezuela. It was hard to pick one, but this one had a great story and at least 5 great photos showing how bad this place is. "
From the author: "These images were taken at the Cementerio Regional del Sur -which means General South Cemetery- the largest cemetery in the city of Caracas. It has 246 hectares and was founded in 1876."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@samycfc/the-real-walking-dead-caracas-ve-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-9-graveyards-aswcontest


Honorable Mentions - 1 SBD each - In no particular order:

@yenipaola

From judge @creepycrazylife: "I have no idea what the poster wrote before the photos. I could have used a translator, but would rather keep it a mystery. The first few photos were like any other post, but then the creepiness occurs when the photos of what I believe is a mausoleum - by looking at a couple of the years, it looks like it has been used recently. My guess is not legally. "
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@yenipaola/esta-es-mi-participacion-para-el-concurso-n-09-cementerios

@hallmann

From judge @creepycrazylife: "This WWI cemetery with Germany, has a special feel to it. It looks eerie, even in the sunlight. The markers have a look to them like many of the old asylum cemeteries in the US."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@hallmann/aswcontest-german-war-cemetery-in-sece-eng-pl

@yorsch

From judge @creepycrazylife: "This photo shot on the Faroe Islands (which I never heard of before) speaks for itself, I love the moodiness of the landscape- dark and foggy. "
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@yorsch/graveyard-on-the-faroe-islands

@bigsambucca

From judge @creepycrazylife: "I had a hard time not putting this photo in the top 3. The Teochew Chinese Cemetery in Bangkok, Thailand. Supposedly this cemetery is surrounded by hotels and other buildings. How can this type of disrespect happen? Even worse, how can a city just let it sit there like that? At Least the BULL (?) wants everyone to 'Have a good day'."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@bigsambucca/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-no-9-graveyards

@akbarrafs

From judge @creepycrazylife: "Village Gampong Jawa, Banda Aceh - Indonesia, this is such a bizarre cemetery, I just had to add it. A cemetery built into a pond? Plus a village with 'Jawa' in its name can not be ignored."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@akbarrafs/grave-in-the-pond-or-or-graveyard-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest


FINAL THOUGHTS
This week's "graveyard" theme certainly made for the creepiest week of competition yet, in my opinion. A lot of these entries were also.. well.... just sad. It's one thing to see nature taking over a cemetery, but it's much different when it's just other people destroying it, littering in it, or even robbing it. Some wild stuff. A special "thank you" to our guest judge this week: @creepycrazylife. Thanks to everyone who participated, as well! The contest is slowing growing in popularity. I hope you all join in once again. Congratulations to the winners! I'll be paying out the rewards tomorrow morning.

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 10 will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday) and look for the official contest post to see what the week's theme will be!

FollowBanner.jpg

Sort:  

I had plans to get in this weeks contest,but I wasn't able to make it happen. I was going to visit my great great grandfathers grave, which as far as I know has not been seen in by my family in more than twenty years. The next time this theme rolls around expect to so it.

Wow. Congratulations to the winners.

interesting photos. i did not participate in this one, waiting for next :)

congratulations to the winners.

well, I'm very happy to have a place in this contest. I will enter the next contest

Missed out on this one again, although I did wanted to participate as anticipated but the theme was kind of creepy and I wasn't able to get a chance to visit the dead. Hopefully I will get a shot in this week's theme. Congratulations to all the winners

Dear @customnature your photography is a amazing...& very good your traveling..i like it thanks for share..

Congratulations to my friends @akbarrafs 😁

Thank you very much for that third place. : D

That graveyard somewhere in thailand is just sad.. damn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81