Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.20... 'Windows!' #aswcontest

in #aswcontest6 years ago

Here is my entry to the legendary Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.20... 'Windows!' #aswcontest. I make art projects in abandoned buildings. I found this one in Bristol, UK and made it into a community project with other local artists. I haven't visited it for a number of years so I imagine it's even more overgrown now! The project is called 'Moon Temple', because I always visit one of my projects when the moon is full.
My friend is an archaeologist and looked at old maps to work out what it was and why it was abandoned. He says it was built sometime between 1903 and 1918, and could well have been a signal box for that section of the railway (there is a path going through the nature reserve this building is a part of, which goes over an aqueduct. this is an old railway which was demolished in the early 70s.

P1030356.JPG

I consider the Moon Temple to be a natural ritual site. Before we restored it there was often discarded drug parafanalia and condoms. Making the site a better place to get high or lose your virginity became one of the projects main intentions.

P1020790a.jpg

P1020788.JPG

P1030381.JPG

I hope you've enjoyed this glimpse into this magical site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71627.79
ETH 3831.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51