WHAT AN AUNT MEANS TO ME: Dedicated to my dear Auntie Susan

in #aunt3 years ago

You know that person who has been there for you since the day you were born...

She probably one of those people who first held you in the arms and welcomed you to the world...

A family member probably either from your Mom 's or Dad's side who is always coming in clutch whenever your parents needed them.

203176211_3562068817226014_157174537536557251_n.jpg

She's one of those people who witness your growth and development.

She likely witnessed your first walk then treated your knee wound whenever you fall over. And someone who played an important role in your life. . someone who keeps spoiling you with love and attention like a mother.

If you're living with an Aunt all your life you might resonate with me by the time you finished reading this.

She is AUNTIE SUSAN. . . is 57 years old living off us.. because she has been broke and lived in poverty all her life.

She never had kids, not even a lifetime partner who would've looked after her.

I know this may sound subjective but she is the kindest person I've ever known.

She was the one who reared me into a better and responsible person at an early age... when my Mom had to left me to her custody to work in another country.

She has been like a second mother to me.

She has been living with us through ups and downs.

She taught me how to create a strong foundation with God. She taught me how to communicate with HIM through prayers.

There was a time when life got tough for us when All people and other relatives have turned their backs against us except her.

She was indeed supportive. She never left my Mom alone the times she needed her.

She was more than a family.

As I grew into an adult, she was the mediator every time I picked a fight against anyone. She was my defender and confidant who always keeps me company

She was the one who wiped my tears when I was at the rock bottom of depression that nearly killed me.

Just like my mother, she always gives me strength and hope to keep going. Even at times when I felt like the world has been so harsh to me.

and the words she keeps on saying up to this day hit me:

"Tiwala lng sa Dios dai... dyan tayo nabubuhay."

which means:

Trust to God, He is the one who gives us life and strength."


When I left the city to get rid of the emotional pain caused by my past experiences, she was the only one who wept tears.. she got separation anxiety of not seeing me for the next 2 years.

She hugged me so tight as if I was not going to keep in touch with her.

By the time I got into another country for work and self healing, I went through a lot. I had been through a hellish ride in my miserable career that led me to self-isolate and disconnecting myself from social media.

For almost 2 years, we never talked for hours through phone but only brief exchanging chats with each other.

She kept many things to herself until one day my Mom told me frankly that she has been ill.

In November 2019, she almost died due to severe bleeding in the Urinary Bladder. We saved her life by supporting her hospital bills and emergency surgery.

Had we forsaken her, she would've died way too soon. On top of that, there were only me, my Mom and my sister were willing to help her despite having serious financial struggles.


I honor my Auntie Susan so much.

I value and cherish every moment she's with us. and up to this day, we will never give up supporting her needs and providing her the love and care just like the way she cared for us.

ante.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59