Northern Lights in Iceland

in #aurora6 years ago

A few weeks ago I was on my first trip to Iceland. I was so excited when I landed that I even posted about it on steem

One of the most impressive experience when out there were the northern lights.

Thank good for iPhone apps

We had downloaded an Aurora app on our phone and one day, it seemed like the chances of northern lights, were decent. As I was reviewing and saving the pictures we had taken that day, while Jodi was going to bed. Before she fell asleep she told me to wake her up in case of northern lights.

Not like on TV or pictures

So before I went to bed a took a quick peak outside the windows. There was a milky film in sky that did not move. At first I thought it was clouds. They were completely white and looked a little like the mike way to me. Of course I was looking out from a room with lights on, but this was totally unlike what I was expecting from the pictures and things I had seen on TV.

I was expecting fast moving colorful lights moving in the sky.

I woke up Jodi and said: "I think you have to see this".

We grabbed the cameras and tripod and dragged her out of the room. I had to go somewhere where there was no light!

We drove the car away from the hotel and hostel we stayed at and simply stopped in the middle of the road a little bit away. It was pitch black! Perfect.

Except now I had to figure out how to take a picture of this. My biggest problem of course was that the first few pictures were not sharp. I had to figure out how to manual focus in the dark and come up with a good length for exposure.

One of the first pictures that turned out ok after many tries and failures was this one:
IMG_6317.jpg.

The aurora and few clouds in the sky were truly magnificent.

IMG_6331.jpg

It had taken me probably the good amount of half and hour to figure out how to take these pictures at all. When suddenly the moon started to rise.

IMG_6324.jpg

IMG_6332.jpg

After watching the moon rise, we went back to our hostel and took a few shots with the farm we were staying at in the background.

IMG_6336.jpg

IMG_6337.jpg

This was truly one of the coolest experiences in Iceland for me, as I had never seen such a thing. Taking pictures of it was an interesting learning experience as well.

Sort:  

Northern lights is one of the most spectacular show of the nature. Its the dainty dance of the nature.

The Northern Lights is just out of this world! I saw the most amazing show on my last night in Iceland. Words cannot even describe the feeling! 😍❤️❤️😍❤️

Yea i feel the same way!

Very special and successful photography
Well, my friend, you are a wonderful person
Very nice article

This is such an awesome post with the northern lights. This is an amazing capture!!!! Thanks for sharing it.

The northern lights footage left me spleechless. Made me think about the magical world we live in. youtposti is excelent!! really enjoying it!!

I am glad u like it. And thx for being so supportive always!

All four of your Iceland post give me goose bumps. Ten days from today, I'll be in Iceland for two weeks driving the ring. Thank you for sharing these amazing post

wow... this is also on my list to see some day.

Oh! It is looking beautiful. Thank you for share this photos with us.

Very cool ..... nothing is ever like we expect it or see it on T.V. / Movies. I really like the color. The third picture that has the moon peaking in it is my favorite but they are all good.

  • Awesome photos thanks for sharing them.

Yea i really liked the moon as well!

EPIC!! 🤙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98