🎵 Top 10 Song Challenge 💽

in #australia6 years ago (edited)

This post is in response to @jordan.white306's invitation. I will be listing my top 10 favourite songs, I don't really have a preferred song so this is somewhat difficult, almost like selecting a favourite child. Anyway after some deliberation here is my list!

🎵 Top 10 Song Challenge 💽

#10. Horrible Histories Song - Charles II King of Bling - CBBC

A hint of nostalgia with this one. The song is both a great parody of Eminem's The Real Slim Shady and taught any kids who watched the show what historical figures were like and behaved. If you enjoy history and learning in humorous ways this song will be a great thing to listen to.

#9. The Offspring - Self Esteem

Ahhh, classic teen angst. Nothing can really beat it, but this song has some certain aspects that shine. I randomly stumbled upon this song a while ago but remember it vividly from when I was growing up. While the song talks about being used by others and enjoying the attention even though it may be negative and unhealthy. If you like angst and punk rock you might enjoy this song.

#8. Colonel Bagshot ~ Six Day War

This song is more about how mankind will be it's own downfall with the use of nuclear bombs and that not everything can be settled with war. I originally heard a remix of this song, but I prefer the original.

#7. Yiruma - River Flows in You

This song always gets me feeling calm and to just take in my surroundings. This song is great for doing homework or even just listening while relaxing in a nice bath.

#6. OutKast - Ms. Jackson

Another great song by the duo OutKast. Some may know their other songs such as, Hey ya! Roses and B.O.B among many more. I just enjoy the whole song in it's entirety with the amazing cinematography and use of animals.

#5. Sabaton- Last Stand

This song is based on a historical event that happened during the sacking of Rome in 1527. The song tells a tale about how 187 soldiers bravely fought in the Swiss guard. Since Charles V, ruler of the holy roman empire couldn’t pay his troops they mutinied and forced their commander to lead them towards Rome where plunder was plentiful. When the invading force entered the vatican pope Clement VII escaped to Castel Sant’Angelo via passetto di Borgo.
The few remaining guardsmen gave their lives on the steps to St. Peters Basilica.
[Information was sourced from https://www.sabaton.net/discography/the-last-stand-lyrics/]

#4. Weezer - Say It Ain't So

This song talks about familial problems with drinking. While I don't have any relatable connection to the song. I still find the song something nice to listen to in my spare time. The lyrics do have meaning and are relevant to how the singer grew up.
[Information about the lyrics and the meaning behind the song, I googled it just for more insight while I knew it had to do with his father http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=1439 give it a read if you're interested in understanding more about the lyrics.]

#3. Journey - Any Way You Want It

While not one of their most popular, it's still a great song! I just like to funk out to this beat while showering or brushing my teeth.

#2. AC/DC - Thunderstruck

An old classic Australian. Almost as iconic as Waltzing Matilda or Home among the gum trees. A nice song to rock out to while having a cold stubby while working the barbie on Australia day!

#1. Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody

While this song can be interpreted differently for anyone that listens to it, many think that this song hints towards Freddie mercury coming out with his sexuality. I think this too, but I don't really mind. In this day and age this sort of thing is normal so I'm not really fussed. But back then it was still sort of shunned upon and seen as disgusting or evil. [But if you would like more insight to what some people think about here is a link. http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=685.]

Well! That concludes my top 10 list. If anyone would like to talk about my selection or just wants to have a chat, leave a comment and I'll respond! Please up-vote, re-steem and consider following for more content!

I'd like to nominate @moont0, @alonekim and @dorna. The rules are simple. Make a list of your top 10 favourite songs of all time, either ranked or un-ranked. This list could be put in one post or split up over 10 days. With each post, nominate 3 people who you'd like to see complete the challenge. This is all about connecting people through music tastes, and discovering new songs and Steemit users along the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97