You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Autism and Dyspraxia: What is Dyspraxia? Does my child have Dyspraxia?

in #autism6 years ago

I confused dyspraxia with dysplasia initially and was thinking wow that really sucks, I've see kids with dysplasia having to wear hip casts and they look like a right pain in the system...oh wait I don't understand what's going on here, OH try defining the correct word that would help XD

Is 5 considered catching it early enough? Though I guess now is still much better than later!

goatsig

Sort:  

No, 5 is pretty late to pick up on it, I think a lot of the symptoms are similar to ASD and ADHD, both of which he also has, so I assumed they were all part and parcel of those.
I am learning very quickly that when they have one neurological disorder, it is very very common for them to have more. Lucky for us though, all the treatment he was already doing with his OT is helpful and now we can just adjust it slightly. Unfortunately he will now have to see a speech therapist as well, so more appointments for me lol.

Gah! I was shocked enough when I found out from the social worker years ago when we started the diagnosis route that it was possible to have both adhd and autism at the same time. Some of these things can really cascade can't they x_x

Jeez between all those appointments and general parenting I'm really impressed you can spin up articles like this! XD

goatsig

Thanks ,I’ve started to double my personal research into posts, it’s the only way I manage to get anything up! Plus I figured it was a good way to keep learning and sharing at the same time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88