Hero 'Sully' Sullenberger presents at PSU's 18th Annual Simon Benson Awards (Shared from KATU's site)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #aviation6 years ago (edited)

PORTLAND, Ore. —
Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III, the hero captain who saved 155 people by executing an emergency landing on the Hudson River in 2009, was the keynote speaker at Portland State University's annual Simon Benson Awards Dinner on Thursday night.
"Flying is still a life-long passion, and I still fly privately," Sullenberger said during an interview.
Since landing that U.S. Airways jet on the Hudson on Jan. 15, 2009, Sullenberger has become a celebrity, but he's resisted calls to run for office.
"I've been asked to run a couple of times, but I'm still convinced that I have a greater voice about things outside government than within, and so I've been using my bully pulpit that I've been given by circumstance to be that (voice), for example, for the safety of the traveling public for my beloved piloting profession, and I think now for our country," he said.
While he won't be a candidate, Sullenberger said he will continue to push for ethics and civility in government.
The event was held at the Oregon Convention Center, and the Simon Benson Award was presented to Barre Stoll, a community volunteer and PSU grad.

KATU's Steve Dunn emceed the event.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56