Flight from Lynchburg, VA back to Shannon Airport KEZF

in #aviation6 years ago

Aviation Adventure #3...

IMG_7983.JPG

On my flight back to Fredericksburg, VA ferrying a Grumman Traveler, I had to dodge some snow showers. They were beautiful from a distance and most of them dissipated before the snow ever touched the ground. Here is a picture off my right wing:

IMG_7976.JPG

While I was flying along, all of a sudden, I painfully saw black, then white, my headset was thrown off, my sunglasses crooked on my face, I quickly looked around to see if I had both wings still and a tail. I shear wind had hit me and the plane and I smacked my head on the canopy! I quickly groped around to put anything I could find that was soft between my head and the canopy.
Like... pants:

IMG_7977 (1).JPG

My head hurt the rest of the day... so that's what moderate turbulence AIRMETS mean to small GA aircraft! The rest of the flight went smoothly and I learned from the experience!

Fly safe out there guys!

Sort:  

Sounds like you might need to wear your motorbike helmet on some flights!?! :) Just catching up on your posts, keep it up, all good stuff, thanks.

I was thinking the same thing! thanks haha

My seat belt is never tight enought either 😂 keep posting good story!!! ❤️✈️

Thanks Nick, you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68913.70
ETH 3738.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68