The Mechanic's ApprenticesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #aviation6 years ago (edited)

Capture.PNG

"In being a mechanic, you become a better pilot and in being a pilot, you become a better mechanic". - The wise words of my mentor, Phil Mclanahan

Growing up, I always loved helping my dad in the garage on cars and motorcycles. I even got mad when he would change the oil without me. It was fun using the different tools, seeing and touching the mechanical pieces, learning how they fit together and worked together. As a teenager, I have helped my grandfather build an RV-10 and an RV-12. There is something special about being able to watch something fly that you created, stand back and say, "I built that". Equally so, there is something extremely rewarding about being able to fix up and help others with their aircraft. That is why I chose to become an aircraft mechanic. Another added benefit is that knowing an airplane better, what it is made of, how it is put together, and how it works sure does give you a 'wing' up as a pilot.

Working under the talented and experienced pilot and mechanic, Phil Mclanahan, has opened my eyes to a whole new side of aviation. As a retired Navy Chief, Phil has worked on many aircraft including the F-14 Tomcats and Gulfstreams. He is an FAA certified Airframe & Powerplant Mechanic with an Inspection Authorization (IA) and was kind enough to adopt me as an apprentice. The apprenticeship takes 30 months of maintenance experience to complete and I am now over a year through.

Named after one of my favorite book series, The Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanagan, I will be writing about the tricks of the trade and the skills learned throughout my journey in becoming an airplane doctor via this blog, The Mechanic's Apprentice!

Visit www.Liv2Fly.org for more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66