Stop Focusing On The Baby's Cry And Start Smelling The Poopy Diaper

in #baby5 years ago (edited)

This perhaps is the weirdest (and grossest) blog titles I have ever written, but that is life for me right now.

I believe that you should write about life - the real and authentic version. And since my son was born about 2 weeks ago, infant cries and poopy diapers are again apart of my reality.

u4j6pfstkp.jpg
source

What Is Baby Fog?


My wife and I have been experiencing something we call baby fog. As best as I can tell, this is something that is common for mommas and papas who have newborns. Baby fog describes the zombie-like state of parents with new babies. They are pretty good at going through the motions, but sometimes they don't know how they got was point A to point B.

It describes parents who have glazed over eyes due to sleep deprivation and the overwhelming feeling of responsibility parents feel as they strive to provide for and protect the newest members of their family.

So What Is The Story Behind This Post Title?


One of the first nights after our little guy was born, I picked him up to soothe him. He was crying and my first reaction was to get him to stop. Swaying side-to-side with a slight bounce in my step came back like it was second nature for me. I started singing and shushing. It felt like I tried everything, but nothing worked!

And even when she was tired, my wife focused her maternal wisdom and said, "Have you checked his diaper yet?"

I was so tired I couldn't answer, but in my mind, I was yelling a big, fat NOPE!

I was so focused on the symptoms of the problem (the crying), I forgot to figure out what the actual problem was. (the poopy diaper). The crying was overwhelming, and I was stuck in the baby fog.

Are There Other Types Of Fog?


You bet there is. The fog can come in all shapes and sizes, some expected and some not.

  • I can get so focused on financial problems that I forget to balance my budget, examine my expenses, and save for an unexpected life event.
  • I can get so focused on broken relationships that I forget to practice healthy communication, offer forgiveness, and practice patience.
  • I can get so focused on professional underachievement that I forget to learn new skills, develop existing ones, and look for new opportunities.
  • I can get so focused on a slow growing Steem blog that I forget to engage other content creators, proofread my posts, and let distractions prevent future growth.

The fog is real! Sometimes we have to reopen our eyes and reevaluate our circumstances to see what the real problems are.

Sometimes we have to get past the generic, overarching "problem" and start focusing on manageable action steps that help us overcome life's obstacles and challenges.

Sometimes You Have To Stop Focusing On The Baby's Cry And Start Smelling The Poop


I don't know where you are at in life right now. I don't know your deepest, darkest secrets or your most paralyzing fears.

But I do understand how easy it is to get distracted by the noise. I understand how easy it is to complain about life and not work towards creating a better life. I understand that taking the first few steps is incredibly hard but well worth it in the end.

So get out there. Take a stand. Take the​ first step. And then take another one and another one.

I Want To Hear From You

  1. Have you ever experienced baby fog?
  2. Is there something else in your life that seems a bit clouded?
  3. What steps are you taking to find a proper solution to your problem?

Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to hearing from you.

@SumatraNate

Sort:  
  1. Currently (and happily) in baby fog with @suitcasemama, @suitcasetoddler, and @suitcasebaby. @encryptdcouple will know something about this two.

Along with your boy @sumatranate, those are the three Steemit newborns I know about (all three boys I believe!). But I wonder if there are more out there?

It looks like we have had a lot of new additions to the Steem community. Thanks for passing along these names. I decided to follow them so that I could support other parents who are tired like me.

There is also the poop denial

"no he did not poop no he did not poop no he did not poop oh darn it he pooped"

and now you have to change the diapers lol

We had transitioned out of the poopy diaper phase and now we are back in it again. Not my favorite part of the job, but so glad the little guy is here.

Lol - it is always hard to remember to find the source for the cry instead of just getting them to stop crying!

When you are tired it is so hard. I am having to remember some of my tricks from when we had our other kiddos. It is starting to come back now.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.290 which ranks you at #2573 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2568).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #177.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95