Suitcase or Backpack Trip: What to Choose

in #backpack6 years ago

When I travel, I regularly ask myself (and people ask me) the same question: beyond the content. What type of luggage to choose? Suitcase or backpack? I often hesitate between my Platinium suitcase, my large flexible travel bag or my backpack, and I will help you to see clearly when to choose one model over another!

Even if today the offer is such that there are for all tastes and budgets, the first criteria will be price and luggage design, then the mode of transport (airplane, bus, personal car etc.), the style of travel (solo, family), the duration of the trip, the destination and the content.

Suitcase or Backpack: a Suitcase.

For long stays or family trips, such as New Zealand, I tend to prefer the rigid suitcase. Already because it allows me to take away more fragile things without risk of finding them broken on arrival (such as my diving gear or memories), when you see how bad the luggage is handled in airports, it's essential.
Then I like to see at a glance what's in my suitcase, everything fits in the different compartments: toiletries, underwear, Little M.'s clothes, mine, it's practical and tidy!
On the other hand, if during my trip I have to use public transport a lot, I prefer a soft suitcase or a bag with a wide opening, always as practical but easier to fit among the luggage of other travellers...

Suitcase or backpack: a backpack.

For short stays, like a weekend in Madrid for example, I am a backpacker! I know that by spending 3 days on the spot, I don't need to carry 15 different outfits, I will use the products provided by the hotel and some miniatures received in the beauty box and above all it allows me to save on the cost of checked luggage when I take a lowcoast flight. Indeed, if it respects the size and safety instructions, my backpack can follow me in the cabin and I don't waste time on arrival in front of the baggage carpet? 9
On the other hand, for a longer duration or for more distant destinations, it is clearly not the backpack that I will choose! Even though there are some very bulky ones today, I hate to have to take all my stuff out to find the right t-shirt or pants that fit rolled up in a ball at the bottom of the bag.

In short, as you can see, I like suitcases as much as backpacks, I just don't use them in the same way for the same trips!

And are you in for a suitcase or backpack?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49