How Bizarre, How Bizarre

in #baddreamsandbrokenhearts6 years ago (edited)

So, I've posted fourteen chapters of a novel on this site and I've found that two of the chapters seem to be getting a lot of traffic while the others ones are not. I'm certainly happy that people are reading and upvoting those two chapters, but I am wondering if they don't realize that they are part of an ongoing story.

I mean, I do have numbers and titles on the pieces, but it may be that it's not obvious that these are not standalone pieces but part of a novel-length project.

So, for anyone who is confused, here are links to the posted chapters in order:

One

Two

Three

Four

Five

Six

Seven

Eight

Nine

Ten

Eleven

Twelve

Thirteen

Fourteen

Fifteen

Sixteen

So, if you've read part of the story, now you can go back and start it from the beginning. (It'll make a lot more sense that way, I promise.)

And if you like it, I'd appreciate the votes.

Sort:  

That pattern is typical for minnows. Pulses of engagement, followed by dry spells. It's a side-effect of Steemit curation. If you are visited by a whale, or someone features your post on a curation thread, you get a lot of likes.

Be careful posting large blocks of work that you intend to sell elsewhere. Most tradpub houses want only original, unpublished work. Even Amazon considers posts on the blockchain as "prior paid publication", which will impact your revenue if you eventually self-publish.

(Great. Now that song is going to be running in my head all day... grin)

Want to know the rest? Hey, buy the rights.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61