You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making "Peasant" French Bread

in #baking5 years ago

I think those are pretty.

Sorry for the poor advice. The breads don't seem too thick so you could also cut the oven time down a bit.

You seem to be having a nice touch in the baking. I'm kind of surprised, even though I shouldn't be.

Sort:  

I think the main things that would have helped would have been to just do one larger bread and not let it get quite as golden. Or do round ones. Maybe this recipe was only supposed to be light brown.

I really wanna get some rye flour. I'm not a really big fan of standard white bread. Another option would be to try a similar recipe with flax added. That got the oat bread super soft.

I'll keep trying recipes, because it's a lot easier than I remember it being. That's probably because I have a mixer. I've probably made pizza dough from scratch a lot more, at least recently, but with a mixer, it's downright easy. By hand, it's a bit of a pain.

I used to have a bread maker, and it's actually not much more difficult doing it this way. That thing was always a pain because the paddle actually was baked into the bread and it was a pain to clean as a result. I actually stopped using it because it was such a pain to clean. Now I realize I probably should have just used it to make the dough and baked it in the oven. Wish I could tell everyone not to get those simple all in one bread makers. They're fun and make the bread easily, but they're a pain to clean, depending on how they're made. It was practically always in the sink.

With the mixer I just put the bowl in the sink and rinse it and come back after a few minutes to an hour and use a sponge and it comes clean easily. The worst is just cleaning the glass pan when I use that, and that's easier than a baked casserole or whatever. Doesn't stick as much as brownies or even corn bread.

Edit: Oh, and they aren't pretty. But I'll get better at stretching them correctly and such so they look good.

Is rye bread rare there? Not sure if it is or not, because it's so common in Finland that even the smallest stores have both wheat and rye flour. Every single store.

You don't have a shop selling flour which doesn't have rye flour.

But flax and oat are both a good addition in bread. Do you add the flax directly or do you first keep them in water overnight to soften up? Some people do that to seeds to make sure they're soft and easily edible when the bread is ready.

We had a "bread maker" when I was a kid. It was really fun, but I was lucky enough I didn't have to clean it. Maybe that was the reason my mother stopped using it at some point, especially if it wasn't possible to machine-wash the parts.

Rye bread is common. Rye flour isn't as common as white or wheat though. Not like it's impossible to find. Just not at every store. Hell, even unbleached flour wasn't super easy to find. Had to go to three stores. It's only at my local grocer sometimes.

People here barely even cook for themselves. They certainly don't bake bread. Maybe they'll bake cookies occasionally. Or a cake. But that's usually from a box or a cookie dough log.

I added the flax when adding the extra flour while it was mixing. When I'm using it in place of eggs for like carrot cake or brownies I mix it with warm water and let it sit. With the oat bread I could probably just add it to the oats which are mixed with boiled water. It's not exactly necessary though, because I use flaxseed meal. It's pre-ground. So not that hard or anything.

I might keep that in mind if I add whole rye or something else to a bread in the future though. Or used some other kind of seed. I probably don't need to soak most overnight though. Maybe just an hour beforehand depending on the seed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72