Baking: A Love Affair

in #baking5 years ago (edited)

My loved ones are often the victims of my baking. I say “victims”,because it is not always pleasant to have baked goods lying around when you’re trying to watch your diet, and not everyone I know has a sweet tooth quite as intense as mine.

Cooking Utensils, Organic, Raw Food, Table, Homemade

Thankfully, my immediate family are the grateful recipients of my baking. They love the craft as much as I do, perhaps not for the act of it, but for the products. Me, though, I enjoy the act of baking almost as much as I love the results. There is something utterly rewarding about constructing or finding and following a recipe to yield an edible result. The act of creation is gratifying whatever it may be, whether it a piece of art or a piece of cake.

Occasionally baking can be both. When I worked at a bakery, the cake decorators were some of the most talented artist I had ever met. They did with fragile icing and unruly buttercream what most could never do with a pencil. Baking is a fun way to satisfy one’s creative outlet.

Baking is perhaps my favorite hobby. Nothing passes a rainy day, or brightens it up, quite like whipping up some delightful treat. And nothing (with maybe the exception of yoga) is so good at washing away stress. When I’m baking, the everyday stressors of life slip away, and it is just me, my kitchen, and my creating.

What I love most about baking is the ability to spoil those I love with treats I have generated with my two hands. A birthday cake, a get-well pie, a congratulatory batch of cookies, baking is the perfect way to mark any occasion. But nothing says “I love you,” quite like an unexpected sweet. For me, my baked goods are synonymous with love, and I will always love embarking on the creation of love.

Sort:  

I too enjoy baking, sadly for many different reasons I haven't been able to for a while know, but I do remember the wonderful feelings it gave me, the joy of mixing ingredients, putting the whole thing in a oven and then smelling that delicious "something's baking" aroma, fun times indeed!

Me identifico con este escrito la verdad ¡¡¡Que lindo!!! cocinar para los demás es una muestra de amor sin duda, adoro hacer desde las galletas hasta el pan de navidad...!!!

Agreed, baking is one of the most rewarding activities. Along with cooking- nothing like cooking a meal then enjoying it afterwards.

smallsmall.png

This post is being supported by Chibera the first MMORPG with blockchain integration because we liked it.


Be sure to also visit and like our social media
Chibera Facebook | Chibera Twitter
Chibera Instagram | Chibera Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02