You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making "Peasant" French Bread

in #baking5 years ago

They look reasonably good considering the dough was too wet after initial mix. Good job getting more flour mixed in the kneading process that can be a ball ache.

Also not pictured is how they looked like two Stay Puft turds in the oven. I kinda forgot to do that whole slice thingie down the loaves.

lol, this made me laugh. I've been making bread for quiet a while myself and it is one hell of complicated business tbh. Much more than it should be considering it's just 4-5 ingredients. I'm convinced it is an instrinct thing when you make bread free-hand. I only got confident with my instincts recently and now most dough comes out OK. Mind you I haven't made anything more complex than pizza dough for a while.

Experimentation is half the fun though :)

Sort:  

I've made pizza dough myself quite a few times. It's rather annoying without a mixer and I could never get a recipe that was quite right for the type of pizza I like. But now with a mixer, I think it's going to be super easy, and I'll have more of a chance to try out recipes and try to find one that I like. With a mixer I just have to prep the yeast, throw it in, mix it a bit, then let it rise and spread it out. Without a mixer it's a ton of work...and flipping it in the air isn't nearly as fun as they make it out to be. Sure, it's a little fun, but it's also a real pain.

And you have to make a ton to get to know how to make it just right...and everyone likes different types of pizza. I kinda hate the type of pizza that everyone else seems to like. I'm clearly going to have to make a ton of pizzas. There's no other way. :P

Yeah man. A food processor makes it a million times easier.

Here's a link to the website I got my pizza making style from.

https://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2010/10/new-york-style-pizza.html

I'm in the pub right now so can't write a longer comment as my data is crap 😉

Check it out if ya like new York style pizza

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72