Learning to live the barefoot life.

in #barefoot6 years ago

35932255_10211722910249715_3085323184812064768_n.jpg

Recently I ran across some facebook groups through a cousin that promoted bare-footing in the daily life. I decided to try it out. I am super new at this whole thing, and am learning how to deal with issues as I go.

Many of us in the US think that basically going off of your yard barefoot is against the law.

I am sure you have heard the 'you cant drive barefoot, its illegal!' before. Or the glares when your baby was in a shopping cart barefoot when you just wanted to run in quickly--or when the child has Sensory processing and you just CAN'T force a pair of shoes on their feet.

This group made me understand that bare footing is not illegal at all! There is no law against bare footing. If you ever get confronted in a store, the barefoot is legal website has a reporting form in which their lawyers call corporate stores and explain that there is no law against it. For others like me, it could be considered a discriminatory practice to refuse. I am disabled and after much research realized that it could possibly help my nerve damage and back to walk barefoot. Therefore, it is related to my disability. So in a store if I were to be asked to leave I simply explain that and show them my disability placard. It is for parking so doesn't hold much weight, but you can also get a doctors note for walking barefoot. The wallet card is simply to get them to leave me alone, but I have not been confronted yet.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/barefootislegal/

Other discriminatory issues include religion. There are several religions that go barefoot. It is called "earthing," and is generally related to pagan religions.

My son has been copying me lately. Yesterday we went to the store, eye doctor, sit down restaurant, and the local library for a reptile show completely and utterly barefoot! Not one place asked us to leave. Only a few elderly ladies looked at us funny but that is expected. I have social anxiety pretty badly, and over think the "looks."

Your feet can be washed and sanatized. Your shoes are rarely washed. One thing that I beg people who consume tobacco to do is carry a spit bottle. THIS--is--nasty to look at any time of the day!
35653241_10211713293089292_1841202671059468288_n.jpg
Respect the people in your surroundings as you carry it home and never wash your shoes. I also beg those with dogs to not let them poop willy nilly. Even people with shoes hate stepping in dog poop and tobacco spit.

There are even some scientific peer reviewed studies that show that bare footing is great for your health.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3265077/

Here is the website where you can become a member of "Barefoot is Legal" and get a membership card to carry in your wallet. Remember-being barefoot is against the "norm" but perfectly legal and healthy. http://barefootislegal.org/

Excuse all of the cuts on my legs and feet. My arms and hands look much the same. I adopted two kittens that have as yet not learned to retract claws while climbing on momma.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ibeaeptree! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ibeaeptree! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54