You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foreign Baseball Leagues Offer Struggling American Players the Chance to Turn Their Careers Around

in #baseball6 years ago

youre right and I never get tired about hearing about Julio Franco. He's an amazing and inspiring guy. I do work with the MLB and MLBPA so I follow closely but I have to admit I hate the spring. The only good part is going to Arizona to get players and agents in one place for meetings lol.

In fact, I find it funny that the "low rung" agents are sent to Florida and the ones with seniority at their first go to Arizona because spring is so much easier there. But I digress,

I think it is a lot easier for American players to go to other leagues than it is for foreigners to come here. The learning curve is steep, especially for pitchers from Japan. I think it must be a confidence killer for Ohtani but he'll be fine. Pitching is so tough here. My theory is that he isn't used to facing such undisciplined hitters with so much strength here. It seems hitters in Japan are very disciplined and it makes them easier to figure out. Here the hitters lack fundamentals so they are wild cards at the plate sometimes

Sort:  

Yes, I think Ohtani will adjust also. He may need more time.

we shall see. I cannot believe it is baseball time already. It always sneaks up so damn fast.

His a legend indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82