You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three Surprising MLB Non Tenders

in #baseball5 years ago

Nothing surprises me in baseball anymore lol. And, that was a good explanation of tendering. My buddy is in player personal for an MLB team. His job is to calculate the numbers in $ for players and make sure everything "pencils" out so they don't spend too much on players. In my opinion that's what it boils down too. Utility players are always the most interesting and to me, they can make or break a team on the field. If they can hit just a little bit and play more than 2 infield positions I always want them on my team even if they are not cheap.

Sort:  

That would be an interesting job, even on the bean counting side. Yes, every team needs a few of those.

Yeah it's pretty much a big math puzzle but he has to know the value of each player in the league and how much his team is willing to pay. Overpaying is the big sin from his perspective. I think the hard thing is to know how much to pay your own players on their next contract. most regular non Superstar players seem to be valued more by other teams and they are their own.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82