I Used A Baseball Bat Speed Sensor Today During Batting Practice - The Pro Major League HIGH Range Is 85-95 MPH... I'm at 84 MPH!!

in #baseball5 years ago (edited)

Apparently working out hard since Jan for my upcoming baseball season is producing results. I can see and feel them physically, but the proof is in the bat speed.

My teammate has a device you put on the knob of your bat, that, after synching with your stance and height, relays bat speed and swing analysis to an app. It's called Zepp. We used it in the hitting tunnel.

Note: The top tier for college players is 85 MPH. The HIGH range for Professional Major Leaguers is 85-95 MPH.

Comparison: I hit 84 MPH twice, with plenty of swings in the 80-82 range! This is still PRE-season form. Wow. Proof below.

I think I'll be able to get to 87-89 MPH when I'm fully conditioned. They say that each MPH over 70 equals 6 feet in ball distance after contact. This is going to add up to a lot more distance on my shots. Knock on wood.

I thought this might be a fluke, but my stats were significantly higher than both my teammates who played college ball, one as a former team captain. I was also using a 33.5 inch wooden bat, when I usually use 33 inches, so this heavier bat actually cost me some speed. With my usual bat, I should be even faster. I was also wearing my Steem t-shirt. It had to help.

I've been doing a ton of core and rotational work to prepare, and can feel the power coming back akin to my younger days when I raked. If I can get this speed up just a little more and be my consistent .300 - .350 batting average hitter, my power numbers could boom this year.

I used to fear no fence in my power alley or down the left field line, but I've dialed back for contact in recent years. I had a great offensive year last year, leading my team in almost all offensive stats, but I want to level up because I know I can be better.

I tend to hit lots of deep doubles because my swing is very level (see pics), but I may try to get into more balls this year with a slight uppercut for more distance.

Check out the tracking: The red line in the swing is where I made contact and the reading was made.


Went down low and got it.

My sweet spot.

Major home run launch here...

From the Zepp website:

I have very strong hand speed, but I can use a little boost. This might be from the heavier bat.

Bat vertical angle defined:

As some feedback, I should be driving the ball up the middle or away. I was getting too aggressive with the swing meter and pulling it. Also notice where my bat finishes in different locations on some swings.

Most of the power and speed comes my torso and hips. The hands simply follow the whip my body makes. The same goes for pitching too. I'm looking forward to getting on the mound soon and seeing what type of velocity I've gained.

Forgive me, I'm excited.

To be continued at the next practice session...

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Dayuummn. That's exciting!!! Nice work!

There are 3 certainties in life: death, taxes, and you being supportive at the best times.

Hahah love it! 💪🏻

Are you sure you want to mess with an "uppercut" in your swing?

Wise question. I tend to hit solid lasers around the field when I connect, but often don't get enough loft or backspin to carry unless it's to left. This costs me distance and home runs. I may consider uncorking situationally when there are shorter porches because I know I'll make contact most of the time. I rarely pop out. I either hit the ball like a missile or get on top of it and ground out.

3 - 0 swing for the moon.

I never got the uppercut swinging for the fences down. Purely a contact hitter.. This was really cool to see, I'd have been a nut about this when I was a kid ! Swinging bat apps, what a world.. Have a good spring training!

Posted using Partiko Android

That zepp setup looks awesome. Great stats too Matt, well done.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's some good wood!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99