Oklahoma State or Oklahoma? Who Deserved to Get In!

in #basketball6 years ago

Quick blog and my first one. Who do you guys think deserved to get in Oklahoma or Oklahoma State? Oklahoma State's snub was a very controversial topic during selection Sunday and my people believed they should have gotten in over Oklahoma. During the selection show Dick Vitale went on a rant about the committee's decision and why he believed OK State should have been in. Vitale said that Oklahoma shouldn't be in because they lost 11 out of their last 15 games, they have yet to win a road game in 2018, and Oklahoma State beat them twice this season. Also OK State did beat #1 seed Kansas twice this season. Many believed the only reason Oklahoma got in was because of Trae Young's star power and how that would draw more viewers to the tournament. Looking at the selection this does seem like a potential cause but to be fair Oklahoma does have a much better RPI and SOS (strength of schedule).

Ok so I laid out the case for both sides. Do you think the committee got it right?

Sort:  

Coming down the stretch I had Oklahoma slightly ahead of Oklahoma State. That being said, I didn't think either team was all that deserving of getting in. In any other year, my answer would be Oklahoma State easily because they were actually playing good ball down the stretch and Oklahoma finished a pitiful 3-10. The Committee did make a big deal though about how they were no longer going to use how a team finished the season in their final 10-12 games as a metric this year and boy did that favor Oklahoma. All of that being said, OSU had every reason to gripe - they beat OU in the Conference Tournament. But at 19-14 and 18-13 , respectively, I'm not sure that either one should be all that out-raged. My honest is opinion is that the Committee should have left them both out.

Interesting take. Who would you put in instead? USC, Notre Dame, St Mary's?

I would have put Saint Mary's myself, or even USC, but I also understand that both of them were lacking in overall resume strength. I will say that Oklahoma St. with the two wins over Kansas, the win @ West Virginia (which is huge because Oklahoma hasn't won a game on the road since Dec) and home win over Texas Tech probably should of gave them the nod over OU in the end. I would have took St. Mary's, USC followed by Oklahoma State and Oklahoma.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67