Johnny Quad in a nutshell

in #batman6 years ago (edited)

My wife and I set a goal out when we were dating, purchase the Batman Knightfall comic books story arc. We met online and we soon realized our passion for Batman and comic books. Before her eventual move, I went to my first comic con and purchased a random assortment of Batman delights. I picked covers of Batman in pearl, villains that engulfed the caped crusader and 3 issue stories. I didn’t know what I was doing at first so I just dove right into the deep end. Then I realized the “Oh shit!” moment of the various Batman storylines.

When I noticed the few Knightfall series and looked into it further the more intrigued I was. Over the next few months, I’d pick up an issue here or there and soon enough I had about half the Knightfall story arc. Once my wife came into the picture collecting became our dating fun! More conventions, online swaps and we learned neat things about comics we would’ve never known had we not wanted to finish collecting the Knightfall story arc though.

Here’s the thing though, after getting the whole set we never read it. Life got to us in such a way that we never had time. I lost a job and company I helped start, we lost our apartment and we struggle with bills still but who doesn’t? I always remember what Thomas Wayne said to Bruce in Batman Begins…

“And why do we fall, Bruce? So, we can learn to pick ourselves up again.”

How profound. We must fail to succeed. I have failed many times in life and now I’m doubling down on what I love to do. Talk about some nerdy stuff with like-minded people. Batman has been my superhero of choice since I was a kid. If yours is different that’s awesome because I want to know why!

Johnny Quad Reviews is about nostalgia and mostly the things I’ve collected over the years. After a spinal cord injury in 2009 (paralyzing me from the chest down rendering me quadriplegic) I started my comic book collection. There is now 600 of mostly unread comics. Some well known stuff and not so well known. I want to go through them all! Discuss the issues within the issues! Relive childhood glory days and maybe do some swaps.

I periodical Stream games and update this blog. Look for my next posts where I start reading Batman Knightfall with Batman #491!

Catch me at
Website: https://johnnyquadreviews.wixsite.com/jqreviews
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JQReviews
Twitch:

Sort:  

I hadn’t seen your earlier posts, so let me belatedly say, “Welcome to Steem!” What a great way to build a relationship with your wife. I’ll be looking forward to more tours through your collection and tagging along as you read!

Thanks for the follow! Hope you enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68828.89
ETH 3759.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43