BBG Next Level: Texas Style Brisket

in #bbq6 years ago

What's up Steemit!?


This weekend is promising for sure, first we have the first bottles of Hop & Liefde clone being opened, to which I will also make a post about, and then a whole day of what me and my friends call the BBG - Burgers Beer and Gaming. It started a while back when I went to hang out with @exyle and his friends @bennierex and @eqko, and we got together to have a gaming night, and also decided to make some home made burgers to follow up. The feeling of not having a care in the world while we played games, ate awesome food and drink loads of beer was so intoxicating that we decided to repeat the event in any opportunity we could, and it became known as the BBG.

2.jpg
The BBG Gang

Tomorrow, that day comes again! But this time I wanted to try something different, drop the burgers for a change and take on something more challenging, and inspired by Anthony Burdain's: No Reservations - Austin, I thought the best challenge was to make a Texas Style Brisket, only possible thanks to @exyle's Green Egg of course.

6.jpg
source:https://www.traegergrills.com/recipes/beef/scheiding-bbq-brisket

So I did some research on the topic and there were two channels which really got me hyped: "Texas Style Brisket Recipe" by allthingsbbq, who give a quick summary from beginning to end of how to make a perfect Brisket, very useful general information on the cooking process.

For some more detailed tips, I went to the grand master of Brisket's himself, Aaron Frankling (BBQwithFranklin) from Austin, owner of Franklin Barbecue. This guys is widely considered one of the best pit master's in the USA and is a reference for making a perfect Brisket. He shares some very good information on techniques in this video, and I will make sure to use as many of them as I can!


For the meat, we chose our favorite butcher in town, Slagerij Schell, in Rotterdam West-Kruiskade 69. We bought a whole piece of about 4.5kg, and seasoned it with a Barbecue Rub directly from Israel which my brother brought me from his travel. We also added lots of crushed black pepper and some coarse salt.
![3.jpg]()

Although the brisket from Schell is a little on the lean side compared to what I see in these videos from the USA, I think we will still be able to pull it off and make it work. I just hope I have enough patience to wait long enough to get the perfect tenderness and cooking on the brisket. Damn... I just realized I will have to let it rest for one HOUR before its ready to slice... this... will...take...discipline.

@exyle will make a big coverage of the whole cooking process as he will be our pit master, so check out his blog for more information on this challenge bbq. I look forward to tomorrow.

Cheers!

1.jpg

Sort:  

I think you guys will have a perfect day together. @exyle was also very excited about it and you chose a perfect butcher. I wish you a wonderful evening!

Thanks it was a great sucess indeed and I'm still absolutely full hehe

A bbq, wow. that is going to be fun and with your home brewed beers the mixture of taste will be a different experience. Wish you guys the best of luck.

Thanks much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70