Saturday in the backyard

in #bbq6 years ago (edited)

I happen to try a recipe featured from Bon Apetite magazine by a Chef out of Portland Oregon who is the owner of the restaurant called Beast, Naomi Pomeroy. Apparently the back story on this recipe is she could not find a caterer and didnt' want to inconvenience her staff so she cooked this for her guests herself on her wedding day, and so she named this recipe Wedding Chicken!

I must say it was really awesome and I don't know if she used an oven or a grill, but I used my old steady steel kamado as you can see from the pictures and it cooked up great with live fire. The skin appears on the dark side but it is not burned it is just dark from the soy sauce, sugar and it is actually tasty and crispy.

Here is a link to the original recipe by Naomi Pomeroy for you to try out yourself.
https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/wedding-chicken?mbid=social_twitter

snap(26).jpg

This recipe uses a few tablespoons of fish sauce but don't be intimidated by this. The fish sauce although on it's own can be rather strong smell, but mixed into this marinade it just blends in the background, you'll never even know it's there. I'm always looking for recipes that I can use my fish sauce on or else it just stays around forever.
I also used liberal amounts of ginger, garlic and I used thai green chili's because I didn't have Serrano chili's.

So this recipe is by a star Chef and she actually cooked it for her guests for her wedding so, you just know it's gotta be something special right? I cooked it today and I totally think it is a winner. Hope you love it too.

snap(27).jpg


looks like bbq peking duck but it is actually just chicken thighs cooked on the kamado. planting weekend so we're getting some greens and tomato and chili's. I am growing some red flame and jalapeno chili's. some lettuce and kale and some yellow and red cherry tomatoes. my garlic plants are getting big as you can see from the height of the leaves and the thickness of the stalks.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71