You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Never a Good Sign When the Coast Guard is 'Looking' For Someone

in #beach7 years ago

I've never had experience with a rip current before. If you just chill and stay afloat, will the current eventually die out or will it just keep washing you miles out to sea?

Sort:  

It dies out once you get out a ways, it isn't going to take someone from NJ to Europe. You do have to find a way to remain chill. Best bet, learn how to swim and listen to the weather service.

See, knowing how I typically react, I would probably just flip onto my back and let the current take me wherever it wants until it dies out. Then I'd work on swimming back to shore.
But it's probably better to swim out of it before it sweeps you out to sea.

I've been in a rip so wide I had no choice but to go for a ride, no getting out. Thank god for some surfers.

Whoa! How far did it take you?

Tough to tell, the breaking waves were well away from shore. It took us at least 20 minutes to paddle our way in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66928.57
ETH 3087.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66