The Queen of Beaches... Henley

in #beach5 years ago

My mum, @minismallholding, has already done a post on our outing to Henley but I'd like to do another. This one will be about the crazy and wonderful things my generation does. Stopping to admire the artwork isn't at the top of our list. The greatest honour for all our age is to do stupid things that will probably end up with us on Shit Adelaide... but not in a good way.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81TBj7GNfJebga8eS6bwFdQYpRuDFFwdSLfc7Lot2xWy4R26y9ozaqJVQjhmCmAKFXzaFbJ8HkYRRTsbtemJZisrEjwV9x.jpg

On January the 3rd, when I had finally recovered from my cold, we headed off to Henley Beach at around 10am. We brought drinks and snacks, and were fully prepared for a day of sunbathing and swimming. On the way we stopped at Soonta (the best place in the world, and no I'm not biased) and got some food to hopefully last us the day. We also swung by Coles to grab the most wonderful Kettle chips and a bunch more drinks.

When we arrived we faced the hardest part of any beach trip: the walk to the jetty. Parking is usually quite far, and if you aren't smart enough to bring shelter (which we most decidedly are not), then you'll have to brave the scorching 10-whole-minute walk to the natural shade of the jetty. But. We finally arrived. We set down our waterproof picnic mat on one of the few spaces left and began our wonderful day.

My little sister and I, after eating, went straight to jetty jumping. Some magic fairy had installed steps leading up the side of the jetty. It was almost as if they wanted us to be safer. We used to have to swim to shore and run back up the jetty (which took a long time let me tell you), or if you were brave enough you'd climb the spiky barnacled jetty legs back up. I wasn't able to convince Izzy to jump off the actual jetty with me (she only jumped off the lower step platform), but we had plenty of fun nevertheless. It was very crowded though, which had the beautiful effect of peer pressure and amazing things started to happen.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7xzRwjQGpeMa2Apui7gDmnEJDzjCV8KJpkeBHsePQyWcaMbqDfwnPparDDo1Bcjf7Fs6TLbdm86u9rBvMjse2nUjbp7bC2.jpg

One young man climbed up onto the slippery railings, while another climbed up him and stood on his head, using it as a step to get onto the roof. With everyone amazed and with a new leader, that leader jumped from the highest point into the sea. Then we all got bored and went back to whatever we were doing before.


As the day went by, we learned that the UV was likely a lot higher than we had anticipated. I was burnt. That wasn't going to stop me though. I decided that the day needed a little more pizazz, so I invited my two good friends to come and do some more jetty jumping with us. They arrived at around 6:30, when the sun wasn't quite so bad, and up onto the jetty we went.

It was still very crowded, and some genius soul had gotten a ladder and tied it to one of the posts so people could now climb onto the roof. It looked very stable. At least they weren't using someone's head anymore.

People were going crazy. Bellyflopping off the roof, riding those yellow ofo bikes up and down the jetty, riding the yellow ofo bikes while dragging an Adelaide Airport trolley up and down the jetty. It was wonderful. Finally I had an idea. I should do something stupid too. And so comes the bet.

I told my three companions (sibling, friend, and friend) that if all three of them jumped from the jetty at the very top (not the roof, I'm not cruel), then I would cut myself a fringe. I knew they wouldn't do it, and I wasn't going to pressure them into doing it. Doesn't mean I wasn't going to have some fun though.

I now have a fringe.


So all in all it was a wonderful day. I had fun with current friends, and we had fun with strangers. It's lovely how everyone encourages each other and is so supportive.

So that my friends, is the best beach in the world. Henley Beach. The beach in Henley.


Photos stolen from my mum

Sort:  

We're heading down to Christies this arvo.
Hot chips in rotary park then sandcastles on the beach.
Evelyn's getting more confident in the water but Fletch is fixating on sharks, now he's not worried about drowning.
Snorkeling on the reef might have to wait until next Summer.

I'm going to be headed to Christie's this weekend with some friends. One of my friends is super terrified of sharks too. I heard that the waves are really nice there so we'll probably be body boarding.

There are heaps of nice options down here.
Tell your friend I've never heard of a shark around Christies, in the 40 years I've been a local.
20190107_181216.jpg
This was yesterday.

I can kind of understand the shark fixation. A few years ago the Surf Lifesaver helicopter set the alarms off when we were having our picnic at the beach. People weren't getting out the water, so the on land guys were having to tell them to get out. The helicopter was hovering not far off shore and the shadow of the shark in the water was bigger than the copter! 😨🦈 Once everyone actually realised how real it was, they stayed out of the water, even after it had gone. Except maybe a few brave ones in no further than their ankles. With fish stocks getting low, we're getting more attacks on swimmers.

Interestingly, the day the girls went jetty jumping a small airplane was circling and the sirens came on. No-one budged though and they went off and left shortly after. False alarm maybe. Big seal?

Hope your mum didn't drag you to make this post. Its nice to finally meet a member of @minismallholding's family. You've been here for about a year? Wow! How come I'm just getting to know you?

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually didn't have to! I think she thought mine was on the boring side and wanted to talk about what the young people do. ;D

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been away for about half a year and didn't find much time to be active during that period so that'd probably be why. It's nice to meet you though!

Nice to meet you too. Hope you become a little active this year and earn some steem for yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minismallholding from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48