You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wild Horses of the Outer Banks, NC

in #beachwednesday6 years ago

Very nice pictures, looks like a great time, I remember a video from a few years ago about another Island horse band, they were dying off also, and had some really bad hoof problems, I can't remember where other than up near Nova Scotia I think. The horse pictures you got did not see any hoff problems with them, so must be some rocky areas for them to keep them naturally trimmed.

Sort:  

Yes, there are a few areas left where wild horses still roam but the Spanish Mustangs are the last left of this breed. I'm not sure what the other breeds are in other areas. Would be interesting to know. If you look at the photos, you can see how their physiology is much different - the nose for instance doesn't narrow from the head - it's almost like a rectangle - squared off and thick. And their bodies are not as long as other breeds.

When I was in elementary school, my school went to Assateague Island for a week where there were many, many wild horses. Interestingly enough, our tents and food, the garbage cans were raided by the horses every single morning and around dusk. And I interacted with them MUCH ;) LOL They were very sweet and social. I have photos hugging their necks and petting them as they went through the camp garbage. There had to be 20 horses on any given morning - it was amazing.

Reading the article below, it appears that they are given the same cautions about feeding and close contact. I find that so interesting due to my close contact (as a child) with them and their attraction to camper's food/garbage. Many mornings, I woke up to having my tent dismantled by a curious horse looking for food and interaction. They seemed very hardy and I remember them being very fuzzy. I would hope that that innocent view of the horses wasn't at the horses' expense - no one knew at the time, that is for sure.
https://www.nps.gov/asis/learn/nature/horses.htm

No rocks really in the Outer Banks. That is a curious observation, @bashadow. Hmmm I never would have thought of that being a problem - wonder if it is with this community of horses. The guide said nothing about that to us but it is possible that they have problems.

That was a very nice addition to your post, the park link was, surprisingly uncluttered, (you don't find that in many government pages). The Island I was thinking about above is Sable Island, I think but am not positive the Documentary I remember was Chasing Wild Horses, if I am remembering correctly it was a nicely done Video. IMDb and Amazon both gie it 4 stars.

Oh that sounds like the 'perfect' documentary to watch this weekend, thanks so much!

I am going to look at Sable Island, too. We've always wanted to drive up to Maine, might as well hop on over to Nova Scotia ;) I've seen a few short films on the islands around there and Washington State that were very interesting....communities of people and animals removed from common life - I always find these places interesting and refreshing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86