You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lets just Pretend...

Slip, slop and slap, I love it @tattoodjay. I'll tell my kids this one when they visit :) Stay in and stay warm! 20 is still cold too my friend! Hope your appointment goes well.

Sort:  

Its such an easy to remember saying for sure, and very important down under with the weak Ozone Layer, you can burn so quick there.

This one is a follow up the biopsy came back positive so he will chop it out, I have had 14 of these done before so I am pretty experienced at it and now it will go well :)

I am familiar with the slip slop slap.
I almost quoted it in a post not long ago, but chose not to as i thought it was too unknown. I have learnt from your post here to share these things and make more of an effort to share colloquialisms. Thanks.
I survived many a sunstroke and blistered peeling skin of australia in the 80s. If my kids were burnt to the point of blisters it would be considered abuse, so thankfully it seems the campaign worked.
At some point they brought back the promotion and tried to add Wrap with regards to sunglasses I think, but it didn't catch on like the 80s promo. That was an epic campaign.
The wrap, provided the sunnies are protective and not dodgy are important. I had a friend lose an eye to melanoma.

We bought _Babybands,s for our first child that wrap around, she hated them.
They are good in the snow too for reflective burning glare, we had friends in Canada buy them for their bub, with more success at keeping them on than we had too.

Ps. It is damn hot here. Has been around 40°c most days over the past fortnight. Murderous. We had a poisonous ozone gas warning last week, told to stay indoors.

Glad to hear someone else had heard of it and read that section, not many mentioned it, in the 80;s I had sunstroke a couple of times and with my fair skin i always got sunburnt and blistered quite a few times when I was in my teens and 20;s I guess thats what I am paying for now.

I have been lucky of the 15 bits of skin Cancer I have only had one that was a Melanoma and caught it very quickly, but sadly my brother didn't and it spread through his body and took his life, thats why I am so serious about getting regular checkups for skin damage.
I wasn't aware they had added wrap, it must have come after I started working overseas and I missed hearing about that.

thanks for the kind words, I generally just write whatever comes ot mind as I am preparing the post, sometimes later I do wonder why I said what I said, but I still do it lOL

Thats hot there and I also hadn't heard of poisonous ozone gas warnings, but stay safe and cool, and I will do the opposite, well I will stay safe and warm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42