You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wild Horses of the Outer Banks, NC

in #beachwednesday6 years ago

I would have never known about their digestive system. That is harsh to only survive on one type of grass. And that is very worrisome if there is only a certain amount in one area. Perhaps that is what's also happening to help keep the numbers low?
Glad to know that there is an organization to help these horses, knowing how destructive humans are, there needs to be good people to help out.

Sort:  

Yes, I found their diet very important to know because I would certainly feed them carrots or the like if someone didn't tell me.

They've been eating this grass for hundreds of years and enjoyed 6000 horses at recorded peak. One thing the guide said about the grasses (because those, too are 'protected') is that these horses don't rip up the grasses at the root, they've adapted to chewing off the ends and grazing. And if you look in the the photos, there are vast areas on the interior land where there is a lot of other vegetation - it is pretty dense actually. As well, the canal that was dug out in the 70's grows a particular plant (I forgot the name and tried to find the name) that the horses just love and is very nutritious for them - they also cool themselves in it. I saw a video on this in my prepping for this post and I will try to include. You can see them foraging 'a lot' and the way they inviting other horses to say hello is just precious :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84