"The Peli-Can Can"

pelicans10FINAL_1.jpg

Pelicans doing the Can Can dance!

This is a series of photos taken in Corolla, NC on the Outer Banks (A long stretch of North Carolina islands stretching from Virginia to South Carolina).

Coming in at 10-17 lbs, you would think the Pelican would not be so inclined to take to the skies, but don't let it's size and bulky, almost clumsy, body fool you. They are one of the strongest and most beautifully graceful birds in flight! Masters of flight, in fact. They are capable of dive bombing from great heights with such precision, it defies logic.

pelicanflight.jpg

With a wing span of 5 feet, they are a noticeable presence gliding the skies. It's almost as if they are soaring on cruise control.

pelicans1FINAL_1.jpg

pelicans2FINAL.jpg

pelicans4FINAL_2.jpg

pelicans5FINAL.jpg

pelicans7FINAL.jpg

pelicans8FINAL.jpg

pelicans11FINAL_1.jpg

pelicans13FINAL.jpg

pelicans14FINAL_1.jpg

pelicans16FINAL.jpg

pelicans18FINAL.jpg

pelicans19FINAL.jpg

pelicans17FINAL_1.jpg

Divider1.jpg

Some pretty cool facts I found about Pelicans:

  1. They can live up to 43 years!

  2. The pouch on the Pelican can hold more food than its belly.

  3. A collective grouping of Pelicans is called a "squadron".

  4. Pelicans are very ancient birds! In fact, the basic features of all pelicans haven't changed much in the last 30-40 million years.

  5. Unlike other birds that use their body's warmth to incubate their eggs, Pelicans use their webbed feet.

  6. The Brown Pelican was so endangered in the 1960s and 1970s due to DDT (https://www.epa.gov/ingredients-used-pesticide-products/ddt-brief-history-and-status), but has made an impressive comeback in recent years.

  7. The sweetest fact of all is that the male Pelicans attract females by choosing a nest site and convincing her to build a nest together!

  8. Pelicans have no nostrils and actually breathe through their beaks.

  9. There are 8 different species of Pelicans living on coastlines all over the world.

  10. Due to Pelicans social appetite, they really enjoy being around other pelicans and love to socialize with other birds.

  11. The largest species of Pelican is the Dalmatian (also very rare) which has a wing span of 11 feet!

All photos original works by @youhavewings. Hope you enjoy these pelicans as I did.

Sort:  

If I was a pelican I would do the can can here too. It looks like a great spot. The have great balance, too.

It is a fabulous spot! - right at the gateway to where the wild horses roam. I literally had to hop a fence to get to it (there for the horses so they stay safe).

I truly wish I knew why they were doing this little dance - maybe just a 'happy dance'.

Great images 💚❤ Congrats on being chosen by @asapers I am here because of them!!

I can't express enough how ASAPers and a few others do to help us plankton folk :) And they are super nice people, too. I would definitely have to agree with you. :)

Thank you for sharing this marvellous photos & infos....
you really caught them dancing !!! :-)

You're very welcome, @lastravage. And thank you! I was bursting to share the peli-can-can ;) When I pulled up their photos, I couldn't believe it. I have no idea what they were doing - maybe I need to ask a pelican expert ;) Super cute though.

beautiful post and amazing photos of birds!!!

Thank you so much, @vipnata :)

What awesome shots, I love the peli can can dance. Hahaha. You did well deciding on which images to use. I know its so hard picking when you have so man. I also love the fun facts. I never thought about them not having nostrils. I wonder if thats all birds or just the pelican...

Thank you! Very good question. I'll put that on my list of questions to solve today :) I had such a hard time choosing the photos and if I had to do it again, I'd probably still have a hard time! ha :)

Haha yeah and you probably would have ended up with a whole different set but this lot got you featured in the world of photography and a few other curation posts so that is pretty cool.

What? I need to catch up - I was out all day with kiddos yesterday. That is pretty cool :)

BTW, I couldn't find an answer to your question....still looking. There must be a 'term' for this type of beak in order to do a search.

I put it in their curation feed for you and they picked you, i didn't know you were part of the room until after I did that, I also added it to the c-squared post promo too :)

Yes, I saw ASAPers and C-squared :) Thank you for that. I'm trying to catch up! I'll be stationery most of today.

Great images again! Wonderful bird - thanks for sharing!
(Oh, you can get extra exposure by tagging @yourluckyphotos - they'd be happy to resteem you.)

I should try that sometime, Thank you and thank you for the advise - I'll try that.

I'm outta steem, @viking-ventures....I will catch you when I recharge ;) Just imagine an upvote for now.

I seem to be mostly out of steem these days - especially after the Pay it Forward posts! It's all good.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Winner, thanks heaps for curation her for me, its a good post with some great images to boot. :)

Thank you so much!

A very detailed description about pelican...❤
Surely this post is very entertaining, useful, and add knowledge to us all...

Thanks for sharing & have a great time, dear friend @youhavewings...😀🤗☕❤

These are great pictures. And you accompany them with a very engaging narrative. I think this is how photos should be posted, they should constitute part of some larger story. Looking at your really great photos here and following along the description as you give, i can finally sigh and say....I know something about Pelicans.

btw, my Secondary school badge had a Pelican as its main symbol! So just know i am somewhat drawn to Pelicans!

Thank you for your helpful comment, @mirrors.

Not all photos have a story, but some do...some are meant to just take in.

I just fell in love with pelicans while on this trip. This spot was definitely where all the pelicans went to socialize. I took over a 100 and they were all very interesting and good (I give credit to them, of course!). I could have stayed there forever photographing them - it was a special gift to finally see them up-close.

So I am, like you, a forever fan of them - They are truly sweet birds.

I had no idea that they can live so long. I had to google dalmatian because that's impressive and a huge bird

Oh, you looked it up - I'm excited to look that pelican up, too! That sounds like a HUGE wing span!

Big ass bird. LOL
Yea it was an interesting read and looked at three different links. and it almost 6 ft long. It would look like an airplane swooping above your head

6 ft long?!!!! Wow! I posted a link in the comments to some photos but didn't get the comparison of size since most were with each other.

Oh yeah, this bird would block the sun LOL! I would love to photograph them!! Wonder if there are in in the states. So cool! Thanks, @woldfhart for the added info

mediterranean is what I got and they migrate north or north east
If they came here they would have to be cleared by ATC.
I like to see one getting of the ground :)

Seriously, LOL ATC

Yes, that would be amazing to watch them lift off

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77