The Beast Beer Challenge - Day 1 - Maduro by Cigar City BrewingsteemCreated with Sketch.

It's a 14-day Beast Beer Challenge! I had to shake down @trumpman for a nomination to participate but... IT'S BEER Do I really need his permission?! 😆

Maybe he didn't know that my family once owned a bar in the bowels of Newburgh, NY. Or that I married into an Irish family who's owned and operated a bar for nearly 30 years now. I shall not be denied the beer - nor the whiskey!

reposted from Whaleshares and modified for Steemit

BEER

IMG_4173.JPG

After hightailing it to the grocery store to see what kind of selection they had, I was highly disappointed that their "select a beer" section was filled with wine coolers and similar vomit inducing beverages. I've had most of the commercial domestic and imported beers so I had to focus on local temptation.

Cigar City Brewing is a Florida-based brewery and I've never tried their beer before.

steemitdivider.png

I'm not sure how I feel about drinking a beer named after a dark cigar wrapper but I couldn't resist the description where it boasts of semi-sweet chocolate, toffee and hint of coffee blended in.

Add the fact that it's a local company, and I couldn't resist adding it to my cart.

It gives good head

The beer is not as heavy or smooth and creamy as Guinness Draught, nor does it keep its head as long. There was an initial effervescent "bite" which surprised me a little. It only took the first sip to quickly discover a nice bold taste with a hint of sweetness to it.

As my tastebuds grew accustomed to the taste I began to better notice the wisp of chocolate and appreciate the coffee and malt. Madura is not the kind of beer that you pound at a party. It's more of a leisurely, after dinner beverage that's just tasty enough to consider it dessert.

If you're not familiar with this challenge, which may or may not compromise one's liver, you should visit @trumpman's post
The Beast Beer Challenge 1# - RUINATION

I'm not scared! At least -- not yet. 👀

Rules

For complete rules, you should visit his post, but I'll give you the highlights

      - You have to try a new beer every day, for 14 days
      - The beer must be something you have never tasted before
      - You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
      - Use #beastbeerchallenge as one of your tags
      - You must nominate a person

I nominate my hubby @triplep - let's see if this will activate him on Steemit!

All photos are mine.

steemitdivider.png


Proof of Beverage

created by @kookyan

Cast your witness votes today!

You have 30 votes. Make them count.

Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube | SnapChat

aaa-merej99-footer-steemit.png

Sort:  

Great entry for this challange!
Steem on :)

Thanks @jcsteem!
I'm a day behind with posting but I've got Beer #2 in my glass and getting ready to write up another review.

@merej99 You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thanks! It's been a while... a long while! Too long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01