The Beast Beer Challenge - Day 2 - Cotton Mouth by Swamp Head BrewerysteemCreated with Sketch.

Day 2 of the 14-day Beast Beer Challenge and I'm happy to introduce another Florida brewery and beer.

Cotton Mouth by Swamp Head Brewery

reposted from Whaleshares and modified for Steemit

BEER

IMG_4177.JPG

I happened to see this when I found Maduro during my shopping spree yesterday.

Swamp Head Brewery is in Gainesville, a North Florida-based brewery. Upon visiting their website, I found out that they aim to be resourceful, sustainable, and environment friendly. They have a reuse and reclamation policy which is quite neat.

steemitdivider.png


I really like their tag line: Big Taste Small Footprint with a silhouette of a Sandhill Crane. I admit that I didn't read what kind of beer this was. I happened to like the name and the can design so I picked up a six-pack and didn't think anything of it until today when it was beer o'clock and time for my daily brew.

Crap! I got myself a Belgian witbier, and according to the can it's got a "delicate mix of fruity esters and spicy phenols." Having just a faint idea of what that might mean, I looked at the ingredients list and saw bitter orange peel and coriander. hmm...

Just as a dietary thing, whenever I eat anything with orange peel I usually have a case of projectile vomiting. A1 steak sauce is a prime example. I used to love blanketing a slab of steak with it, but when I kept getting sick, the common denominator between what I'd ingested and when I puked was orange peel.

OH SHIT.

Well, bottom's up anyway.

steemitdivider.png

I have no idea why I recorded an 18 second reaction video - and doubly confused why I posted it, but it made me laugh, so why not?

Now... You might think from my reaction that I hated this beer! In truth, it's pretty tasty. I just wasn't prepared for the strong fruit and spice combination in a beer, coupled with the fact that it is an unfamiliar beverage. Honestly, I don't know what I was expecting but after a couple of sips, the surprise wore off and I began to enjoy this swamp offering.

A Summer Beverage

This is the type of beer that I would consider summer fare. It's fruity with a healthy dose of spice that gives it a little kick.
Though I prefer dark beers, I'm not opposed to enjoying something light and refreshing once in a while. To be honest, I probably won't purchase this beer again, but Swamp Head Brewery has a lot of other offerings that I'll be on the lookout for.

steemitdivider.png

Are you participating in @trumpman's Beast Beer Challenge?

You'll have to read about it in his post: The Beast Beer Challenge 1# - RUINATION

Still not scared, man!

Rules

For complete rules, you should visit his post, but I'll give you the highlights

      - You have to try a new beer every day, for 14 days
      - The beer must be something you have never tasted before
      - You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
      - Use #beastbeerchallenge as one of your tags
      - You must nominate a person
      Who do I know besides hubby ( @triplep) that's crazy enough to do this challenge with me? - let's see...

I nominate @ruth-girl

Sorry, babe, I was desperate. lol Drink up!

All photos are mine.

steemitdivider.png


created by @kookyan

Cast your witness votes today!

You have 30 votes. Make them count.

Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube | SnapChat

aaa-merej99-footer-steemit.png

Sort:  

I intend to begin today! Cheers! 🍻

YAY! I'm still waiting for my husband to begin. You'd think he'd be all over this challenge - but he likes his Natty Lights. LOL

Someone is a man of habit I guess. 😂

Hey, I saw your response in Whaleshares. I hope you're not sick sick! Feel better and drink some chicken soup.

I'm already better, I got some rest. It was sleep I needed and some relaxation.
Thanks!

@poeticsnake - did you see this beer can? It has a sssssnnnnaaaaaaakkkkkeeee on it. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97