You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pony Swimback on Chincoteague Island

in #beautifulsunday5 years ago (edited)

I grew up riding my cousins' polo ponies In New Mexico as a kid, and have always been a bit soft in the head about horses, and all animals.

I always wanted horses as well, but growing up in L.A it wasn't exactly practical, though my cousin Terry did jokingly offer me one of his horses once.

I fell in love with the Chincoteague ponies the first time I read about them, but haven't seen them in person as yet, though I did love the film "Violets Are Blue" thanks in large part to their presence.

And I am SO grateful to the Chincoteague Volunteer Fire Department for their terrific work in managing the herds, as theirs is a 1,000% improvement over the way the BLM has mismanaged the mainland wild mustangs, resulting in systematic abuse and inbreeding.

ALL wild horses deserve far better, and I'm so grateful that the Chincoteague horses have such avid support and care. Hopefully the BLM will get a clue and follow suit.

Thanks for this wonderful series.

And who knows . . . I now live on acreage, and we have a good barn, so horses may yet be in our future.

Do you ride your Henry, or is he more a pasture pet?

Sort:  

Henry jumping.jpg

He is an amazingly smart guy and loves to ride and jump. He is definitely a gorgeous dressage baby. :)

That's awesome to hear.
So happy that he's found a great home.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89