Beautiful Sunday, Sublimely So!

in #beautifulsunday6 years ago (edited)

How was I, so blind to miss all the signs, staring at me,
Looking me right in the face
Now I can see it all so clear, the moment I stopped to hear
The sounds of Sunday
Tolling in my ear

church 1.JPG


unnamed (33).jpg


Clock Tower of Cathedral Immaculate Conception in Castries, Saint Lucia - Oh for whom the bell tolls.

Every Sunday at the same time, the bells ring, calling for all to gather.


wednesday walk.JPG

•´¸.•♥*¨)
¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥

First a flower. Always a flower. Inhale its beauty.
Today is a #Beautiful Sunday by @Ace108 as it always is! It is such a #SublimeSunday by the infamous @c0ff33a


IMG_4236.JPG

The Washington Monument was the tallest building in the world upon its completion in 1884. ... Built in the shape of an Egyptian obelisk, evoking the timelessness of ancient civilizations, the Washington Monument embodies the awe, respect, and gratitude the nation felt for its most essential Founding Father. See here

It was a perfect day for a stroll on the Mall.

The National Mall is America's most-visited national park, where the past, present and future come together. ... The National Mall is centrally located in Washington, DC, stretching over 2 miles from the Lincoln Memorial on the west end to the U.S. Capitol on the east end. See here

Address: Washington, DC
Area: 146 acres
Hours: Open 24 hours
Designer: Pierre Charles L'Enfant

ribbit collage 2.jpg

Jefferson Memorial, The Library of Congress, The Capitol and The Old Post Office... Did you know you can get a library card from the Library of Congress?

20180625_211356.jpg

Yes... Yes...Beef Wellington and a lobster tail, mashed potatoes and some veggies. A step off the Mall to satiate some hunger. Yes, please.


IMG_8733.JPG


It got dark and foreboding, but, when the sky opened, it was just a tad. Enough to get wet and little enough to do really nothing at all.

20180527_184624.jpg

Yes. In case you were wondering. I played Barbie with my five-year-old neighbor. And yes, I had fun. We didn't let Ken play. Not today, perhaps another day.

Bull riding gif.gif

Bull riders seek glory, eight seconds at a time....

Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instgram

Don't ever forget what wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.

Sort:  

Really... beautiful Sunday .... have a great weekend..

Thank you! You do the same!

We have a kind not too different memorial. I don't have a picture of it but this is what I found from Google maps street view.

https://www.google.com.sg/maps/@1.2931425,103.8542564,3a,75y,123.72h,107.74t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sjs2PufMXDD36UG9MkICS1w!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

It's the Civilian War Memorial
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civilian_War_Memorial

Some people called it chopsticks.

Civilian War Memorial
The Memorial to the Civilian Victims of the Japanese Occupation, usually called the Civilian War Memorial (Chinese: 日本占领时期死难人民纪念碑; Malay: Tugu Peringatan Bagi Mangsa Awam Pemerintahan Jepun) is a war memorial and heritage landmark in Singapore. It was built in memory of the civilians killed during the Japanese occupation of Singapore during World War II. The Civilian War Memorial sits on serene parkland in the midst of busy city traffic near Singapore's Padang and City Hall. Located within the War Memorial Park at Beach Road within the Central Area, Singapore's central business district, it is usually easy to spot in most backdrops encompassing the CBD landscape. It was gazetted as a 65th national memorial in 2013.

Wow! I read the history of it, @ace108 and I had no idea that so many perished in the occupation. War is always so devastating.

Chopsticks! :) Yes! I can see that! A perfect name and it is such a dominant memorial, just like ours is.

so, you see we are a nation with food written everywhere. :-)

You Win!! LOL :)

I think this is such a wonderful post. Totally random as it should be. The gif and the collage is such an added bonus!! I think it really adds some life to the post!!! As always, well done!

Thank you! It really is pretty random, but, believe it or not, that is just how my day was. Random! Downtown, Uptown, playing with the neighbors...

Hey! I even got a minute to tan!

Tip!

Some information i have catched through your post about Washington dc, just finger licking food and good photography which start with a nice poem.

:) Thank you! Have a most wonderful week!

Such a cool variety of shots all great but I got stuck on the Beef Weelington that looks so good

Thanks so much, Jj! If it makes you feel any better, it was totally delicious! I knew you would want to know. The place was British.

Hope you had a fabulous weekend and you kept notes on the games for me! ;)

Tip!

@dswigle LOL if it was British was it cold and the beer warm

Wow! You had a full day... looks like a wonderful one too... The shots definitely show us so.... :) Cheers!!

Hehe! Thank you, sweetness! It was a very full day and that is just what my weekends are like!

What a place...The National Mall! Do you know what I love about you, @dswigle? Not that you played with Barbie and you ignored Ken (I know these dolls are an American symbol, but I'm scared to see kids like adults ...). I love it so much that you are not vegetarian, vegan! Thank you. By the way: for whom the bell tolls?

There was a funeral mass when I went to visit the church, so I don't know who it was, just the day they were buried.

Hi, Dan!

Hi Denise...I thought you thought about Hemingway!

Well, of course, he is the one who wrote it and I was thinking of him, but, the thought came into mind of the man that the funeral was for. ;)

Yes, understand. You reminded me of the book, which was one of my favorites and the only Hemingway book I read. Many years ago ...

We had required reading in school. "The Old Man and the Sea" I believe they probably still require it today. Hi, Dan!

Good morning! ;)

I'm sorry I could not answer this morning so I have to say Hello! "The Old Man and the Sea" ... I just saw the movie with Spencer Tracy.

I've never saw the movie, only read the book. Was it good?

What is that building on your first photo, @dswigle?

I identified it right below it. It is the Clock Tower of Cathedral Immaculate Conception in Castries, Saint Lucia

Oh, thanks, I missed it thinking that photo doesn’t have a caption :)

You know what? I usually put them on top of the picture. My bad! ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Beautifully epic day for sure this is stunning to check out so nice : )

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57