EASY ON SUNDAY MORNING...LAST DAY OF OUR WINTER VACATION DAYTONA BEACH FLORIDA, USA

in #beautifulsunday4 years ago

When the hard winter hits in Upstate, NY, we go south. This year, we were out for six weeks, touring Florida.
Our first stop was in St. Augustine, east coast Florida. We discovered a wonderful, historic place, with nice friendly people, great restaurants, shops and sightseeing. Without a doubt, we will be stopping there again next year.

After traversing the state, we landed in Siesta Key, on the west coast. This is one of my favorite beaches. The sand there is like walking on baby powder. We met up with my dear friend Kathy, she lives in Sarasota. She is one of my oldest friends.
We met in college and became instant friends. Our bond has lasted for over 40 years.
Although we only see each a few times a year, the moment we get together, it's as if we were never apart.

True friendship is a gift, to be appreciated and nurtured. I am blessed to have such a true blue friend, who makes me laugh and let's me cry. Tells me the truth and listens to me complain. Who will always be there for me, though thick and thin.
Thanks Kathy...see ya soon my friend.

Fort Myers was our next stop. There we stayed for two weeks and had such a wonderful rental. Indian Creek was the name of the community and every home sat on a lake. Every morning we would sit on the patio in the backyard and enjoy the show. The birds, turtles and even bunny rabbits would entertain us as we sipped our coffee and of course, take a few pictures. The location was awesome. Just 3 miles to Fort Myers beach and just 6 miles to Sanibel Island. If we ever decide to buy, I think this would be the place. We have traveled up and down both coasts of Florida and I think the west coast is my kind of place. The Gulf of Mexico is warmer than the Atlantic ocean, plus it has gentle waves, great for swimming or just floating along.

Staying on the west coast lasted another week as I visited my sister in Venice. Talk about beautiful sunsets, wow, just spectacular. Great seafood, lots of music and a quaint shopping district, with lots of small shops with unique gifts.
Visiting with my sister afforded us the choice of three different pools, which the @thebigsweed took full advantage of every morning at the crack of dawn, doing laps.

Our final destination, Daytona Beach, east coast, yep, crossed the state again. It was a good move though because Daytona is northeast coastline, so we were already going in a homeward direction. We managed to pull off another 12 days there. We landed an ocean front condo that was just perfect. We walked a few yards and had our toes in the sand.
Sunrises were breathtaking and caught it every morning we were there. If you haven't already guessed, we are early risers.

Our last day... #beautifulsunday, #sublimesunday, #amazingnature all rolled into one. The weather was perfect. A gleaming sunrise over the ocean, a morning walk on the beach, breakfast at "Frank's famous diner", lounging at the oceanfront pool and an early dinner at "Crabby's Oceanside" fish house. Phew, what a day.
Love was all around.

IMG_0774.JPG

IMG_0679.JPG

IMG_0882.JPG

IMG_0709.JPG

IMG_0071.JPG

IMG_0712.JPG

IMG_0735.JPG

IMG_0821.JPG

IMG_0772.JPG

IMG_0764.JPG

A big shout out to @cOff33a and @ace108 for letting us express ourselves on Sundays, thanks.
To @adalger thanks for your appreciation of #nature, it really is amazing!!

Have a great week steemians, #steem on my friends.

IMG_0770.JPG

Sort:  

Oh I miss Florida! I live in Michigan. Gramps used to live in Florida and we would go see him most summers. Great shots!

Hello there @old-guy-photos, yes Florida is a great place to visit in the winter, love getting out of the cold here in Upstate NY. But I have been there in the summer and the heat was way too much for me.
We met a retired couple while in Fort Myers, they live down there for 6 months then go back to Michigan for the good weather, for the other 6 months. Really nice people.
Hey thanks for stopping by, have a great week.

Glad you like the place want to go back there.
Other than the place, the people and food must have played a big part of that.

Hi there @ace108, yes, Florida is so nice in the winter months, warm, yet not too hot, like it is in the summer months down there. We go south in the winter to get out of the cold, snowy weather here in Upstate NY.
The people there are so friendly and nice, way more laid back than in the northeast.
It was a great vacation. Now we are home and tapping our sugar maple trees to make our maple syrup. That's always a fun project and my kids and grandchildren love it.
Thanks for the reply and also for having us on Sundays...
Have a great week.

You're welcome.
Thanks for joining the fun.
Enjoy your free maple syrup.

You're welcome. Thanks for
Joining the fun. Enjoy your
Free maple syrup.

                 - ace108


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

And we got home just in time to tap the maple trees,

Yeah baby, the sap is running...syrup is on the way!!

Looks like a great way to spend the winter! I have an aunt and cousin in Sarasota, so we are quite familiar with Siesta Key Beach. That's my mom's favorite spot to go visit. I like seeing different places, but agree with you that I generally prefer the Gulf side of Florida. Hhhmmm, might need to plan a quick getaway soon before the high season hits!

Hi there @plantstoplanks, yes it was a fantastic vacation, just love Florida in the winter, the weather was really perfect this year. Only had a few days of rain, but I won't complain, still got a tan. Plus when we travel, I do very little cooking, not that I don't love to cook, but it's a nice break from the cold up north and the dirty dishes. hehe
Thanks for checking out my post.
Have a great week.

Beautiful pictures @farm-mom. My in-laws are in Florida right now for the month, they've been doing that for the past few years now that my MIL retired. They really enjoy it, looks like you do too! Now back to the cold in NY for you like the rest of us ;)

Hi there @intothewild, thanks for checking out my post.
Florida is wonderful in the winter, not too hot, yet so refreshing for me to get out of the cold in the northeast.
It's the sunshine I miss during the winter here in Upstate NY, PLUS we get lake effect snow here almost every night.
So for me, it's my therapy, although it my be cheaper for me to see a shrink. hehe

Nice and various selection of pictures ^^ winter in Florida looks still like a summer vacation over here in freezing Europe, hahaha ;)

Oh I am glad you liked my pix, thanks.
Florida is great in the winter, nice and warm, unlike here in Upstate NY USA which has a long, cold and snowy winter.
We enjoy the break but we get back in time to tap our sugar maple trees on our farm to make maple syrup. The sap usually runs from the first week in March to about the third week or so and then it's done. Very seasonal. Otherwise, I may stay until spring. hehe
I am going to get it together with entering your contest very soon. What is the best day to post? I know you are a busy family man, so I will read the rules again, now that I am back home.
Have a great week!

Florida for sure looks like a place you can stay the whole year ^^ .. Its quite unfortunate that during my time in the USA I was only able to see a few selected parts on the west coast .. This country is just so tremendously large !! .. If you want to enter the contest again I would be really happy about it ;) .. The rules are actually quite easy and straightforward. After writing up your post publish it into the Amazing Nature community and then add a link to the actual contest. I always pin the actual one at the top of the community feed. Just be careful not to pst too late on a Friday, as voting may have already started by them. But I explained everything in the rules too ^^ .. I am looking forward to what you have to offer this time, hehe ;) .. Best wishes to the other side of the world !

It sounds like you had a grand time and your photos are wonderful! Hey, I got some unexpected Steem from you? Was that intentional?

Good morning @melinda010100, yes we had a fantastic time in Florida.
Yes, I wanted to thank you for all your support over the past year, the steem was my way of showing my appreciation.
Be well my friend and keep up the good work. Cheers!!

That is incredibly generous of you and it is very much appreciated!

Good morning @melinda010100, you have been supporting me since I began my journey here on the blockchain...thanks again. All the tips you sent me are so appreciated.
Have a wonderful day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67