You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beautiful Sunday, Sublime with a touch of Color and Christmas

I can see you're a real traditionalist when it comes to Christmas @dswigle and I hope the world continues to be blessed by people who love, and know how to decorate their homes with charm and style, as you do. It is very difficult for us to celebrate Christmas the way our friends do on the other side of the world, with the aid of snow covered pine trees, and migrating around the fireplace to keep warm, singing and enjoying the company of family and loved ones and sipping egg nog.

And I learned a lot about the tradition of the Yule log after reading your blog. Fascinating stuff!. I'm sure I'd love to sample some of that "buche de noel." Sounds delicious.

The only fires that get lit at Christmas time here, are BBQ's so we can cook whatever takes our fancy for luch or dinner, between a swim at the beach or in backyard pools to stay cool. And instead of gathering around a cosy fire for entertainment it is traditional for families to play cricket with lots of variations in between.

However, the reason for the season is celebrated by Christians, being thankful for the birth and life of Jesus........the greatest gift of all, to mankind. I hope you and your loved ones have a wonderful Christmas Denise.

Sort:  

I have actually lived several times in places where Christmas was in excess of 90 degrees. Although I still went ahead and decorated oh, it didn't have the same feeling as having a bit of a chill and the wind whipping my cheeks. I guess that makes me a bit strange wishing for the cold stuff but that's the way I grew up in New England. Christmas meant snow and hot chocolate, frosted windows and a little bit of ice on the side. I always thought it was me and because it was me and the way I was raised, I actually had no idea that people with opposite seasons may feel the same way. But, even you have to admit that it feels weird to have summer when you are having winter and vice versa. But, as you say, as long as I keep the reason for the season close to my heart oh, it's all good. Have a blessed day my friend.

Family traditions are so important and it is always sad to see them disappear for whatever reason Denise. We all need constants in our lives. Just coming from New Zealand to Australia to live, challenged us with noticeable seasonal differences and the two countries are separated only by a 3 hour plane trip. In N.Z, winter is our rainy season but here in Australia, summer is the rainy season with lots of cyclones to deal with too. It just pays to be flexible I suppose, especially when it is our own choice to make such big changes in our lives. (:.

Oh sure, I get that! Even though a little changes are pretty noticeable. When I was growing up Florida it was only a two hour plane ride and when we were having winter and a foot of snow oh, you could hop a plane and 2 hours later be in your bikini on the beach. It always seemed like magic to me! Fast forward a few hundred years and it still seems like magic to me. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81