A Budget Friendly Hair Serum -- Worth A Try?

in #beauty7 years ago (edited)

I've always believed that colour treated hair need not be dry and brittle.  For one, the technology advancements in hair colour products has to an extent reduced the damages caused by colour treating hair.  Secondly, there are many hair masks, oils and serums in the market that helps re-nourish hair to maintain that bouncy shine.

I've had many friends and family ask me how I keep my hair soft and healthy despite having bleached and coloured my hair.  And my answer is, if you're going to get those things done to your hair, you need to have a certain amount of upkeep too.  Back in the day, I was a big fan of the VO5 Hair Oil -- the ones in the single tubes you dunk in hot water to heat up.  Now, it's a concoction of good shampoo, conditioner, a mask every once in awhile and hair oil/serum right out of the shower.

Several years back, I had been using the Organix Argan Oil Penetrating Hair Oil which I picked up on one of my travels.  It was my first foray into hair oils and I loved it!  Then I went on to try a few other hair oils including the L'Oreal Elseve Extraordinary Oil (RRP: RM41.37, 100ml), Lucido-L Argan Oil Hair Treatment Oil (RRP: RM29.90, 60ml) and the Marc Anthony Repairing Macadamia Oil Treatment (RRP: RM59.90, 50ml).  I wasn't quite fond of the L'Oreal oil because it felt like an additional film layer on my hair but if you like to put in hair oil as a pre-shower routine, I think you might like it.  I'm more of an post-shower hair oil kinda person so the other options were more my cup of tea.  However, I did find that on me, with the Lucido-L oil, my hair felt dry come Day 2.  My favourite of the lot is the Marc Anthony oil but it's a bit on the higher end of the price range.

Then one fine day, I thought I'd try something new.  I've been eyeing the Good Virtues Co. product line up for awhile now and I've been quite content with my other face, body and hair products, I wasn't too keen on getting anything else before.  The packaging design is so fun and vibrant, it definitely stands out on the shelves.  And at a budget friendly price point of RM17.30 for 100ml, the Good Virtues Co. Helpful & Delightful Multiple Repair Hair Serum went into my little shopping basket.  I've heard of Black Seed (Habbatus Sauda) as a health supplement but I've never tried Black Seed Oil products before.

Let's start with what I liked: 

  • The oil is much thicker than the Marc Anthony oil which means I needed to use less product for my hair length (I have relatively long hair)
  • It has a subtle pleasant and clean scent to it (if you're familiar with the Black Seed Oil scent, it's pretty much that)
  • My hair feels soft, airy and hydrated (even on Day 2!)
  • The price is awesome! (RM0.17/ml compared to RM1.20/ml of the Marc Anthony oil)

There really isn't much I don't like about the product.  The only thing I didn't like was the pump that it came in.  I felt that it was very easy to dispense too much product if you're not careful.  If you have an extra pump bottle you prefer on hand, maybe swapping out the container for that.

I use hair oils after washing my hair and apply it to towel dried damp hair.  The reason why it is best to do so on damp hair is because the instruction says so hair cuticles are open and the oil would be able to sink in better into the hair shaft compared to applying on dry hair.

Photo Source: Good Virtues Co website

If you're interested you can find GVC products in Watsons as well as online on their website and on Lazada.


Lots of love, Adelina
Website: Make Up By Adelina
Online Store: Adelina Beauty
Facebook: @AdelinaMUA
Instagram: @adelinamua

Sort:  

Congratulations @adelinamua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @adelinamua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Thanks for the upvote @minnowpond!

Awesome post! Keep it up @adelinamua

great sharing @adelinamua ... cheers !

Thanks master sifu! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67751.96
ETH 3530.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16