Beauty Subscriptions 411: Is Ipsy Worthwhile?

in #beauty6 years ago

IPSY SO FAR.jpg

 

I've been a consistent subscriber with Ipsy for four months now. I wanted to share my experience with Ipsy and their glam bags. I am not a publicity representative for Ipsy by any means. My statements are merely my own personal opinion. I hope that this article helps you decide whether to join or not. I joined with them August 2017 and I have already received my November 2017 glam bag.

What's so good about Ipsy?
Perhaps you've heard some hype about Ipsy and wonder whether you should subscribe or not. Let's talk about what's good about Ipsy before we dive into the neutral aspects of the company.

Ipsy offers Ipsters cash back rewards, exclusive Monday-Friday offers where you can purchase partnered merchandise for 15 - 50% off original retail value, earn points by reviewing products to exchange for items, and you also get five personalized samples in a glam bag shipped out to you every month for $10.

The Good 

1. A refresher for makeup beginners and beauty pros

Joining any beauty subscription kit is the best way to familiarize with makeup or expand your options as a consumer. You will find other companies to buy from that are affordable, cruelty free, and for an on the budget mind set through glam bags. Let's face it sometimes we jump into makeup for the first time or we come back to it after our make-up hauls are burnt through. Where do we start? Save money before you commit to buying full-sized products. Ipsy gives you the perk of sampling makeup companies that their team won't hesitate to wear.

You'll also have the wonderful option of downloading the Ipsy app for tutorials on how to use your products. An experience that will allow you to learn a new tip for makeup applications each month.

In July 2017, I personally blew through all of my makeup that I hauled in April 2016, and so much new makeup products came out that shook me. I was lost. Ipsy really helped me get back on the "trending makeup" wagon in regards to product, colors, and beauty trends.

For example Southern Korean beauty. I had zero clue about until I got some face sheets masks from Soko Glam in my bag. Ever since trying Soko Glam I love face sheet masks.

2. When you get full sized you find your new favorite

I've never gone out of my way to buy makeup that I wasn't familiar with, or ventured out of certain brands (whether they were high end makeup brands or drugstore brands), because if I knew them I stuck to them. That can get boring quick. Ipsy tenderly shoves you out of your routine and regular comfort zone in positive ways. The full sized items I've received from Ipsy have been my favorites. I currently still have a lot of ounces left in them before I run out. When you do get pampered with a full sized product I can almost 80% guarantee you it will be your new fave.

23846711_325651361249426_736298862_o.jpg

Check this full-size lipstick I got in a glam bag. I love the shade and I've been abusing it and still got tons more left to smear on my lips. ;)

3. Ipsy glam bags are cute and great to add into your purse or travel bag

At first I thought will I even use these bags after I pull out my products from them? I wasn't sure. It turns out I do frequently use these to put my makeup into my travel bag, purse, or gym bag. They're so stinkin' cute it's just convenient to do. It's more flexible than a box or small satin bag that other subscriptions offer which don't allow you to easily reuse.

4. Ipsy newletters are filled with other Ipsters just like you creating community

Ipsy newsletters are fun as they introduce you to Ipsters who are making a difference in their own unique way in their community. I've really enjoyed this month's featured Ipster, Dina Klein (@livelearnloove). Aside from great ipsters, their newsletters give you great tips, reflections, and insight for the month's beauty theme. They're fun. In October's 2017 newsletter I learned spider eyelashes were a thing.

The Neutral 

Now I say neutral because whatever is stated below is based on my experience. I personally think when classifying any customer support experience it should be said in a neutral tone. Customer support varies for different people and situations.

1. Customer Support

Ipsy's customer support has been great they respond very quickly. Prior to their new customization option you were able to request one item that was set to be featured in the upcoming month's glam bag. I was able to do that until that was no longer an option. In those instances I requested Make Up Forever's Excessive Lash & Tarte's Lights, Camera, Lashes, and Urban Decay's 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Perversion. It worked when requesting through Ipsy Support because they confirmed and it came through.

That was nice!

Unknowingly to me, I realized when I tried Tarte's mascara, after trying Make Up Forever's mascara that I'm just super sensitive to mascara. So I contacted customer support to let them know I did not want to receive any mascara in future glam bags because I have a super sensitive water line. They reached out to me and noted it down. I have not received mascara since.

2. New Customization Options

Their new customization option to personalize your Ipsy glam bag is better than the old options of requesting one sample of your choice. At least this new feature seems that way. I have already done my part in customizing options that I would love to receive but there is no guarantee that I will. Let's see if by December's 2017 glam bag I see something I had selected. Below I took screen shots so you can know how to use this new feature on your account.

2. My glam bags have always arrived on time

However, they do get delayed when I exchange my points for items and that's totally fine, because it makes sense.

 

3. When you review your samples you get points

The points you accumulate allow you to exchange them for items in the Ipsy point store for items that you want. Items for 500-700 points are usually full sized items retailed for $7.99. That's cool! I exchanged 500 points recently for a full size lip pencil that was valued for $8.99 on the brand's website. That's some healthy interactive fun that won't hurt your wallet.

The Bad (because not everything is perfect)

Although the items received are sample sized some times you do get full-sized items. Each glam bag does definitely have the same value or a little extra of what you pay for monthly. It just saves you time from getting it yourself and you get a cute bag out of it.

1. Their marketing is very strategic that you can quickly become an impulse buyer for their offers (which are often mini or deluxe sample size)

Their marketing is great. So great it can be very brainwashing at times. That's how good and thought out it is. The intentions are corporate behind that genuine strategy of monetary interest. It can lead you to be an impulsive buyer! So be careful. I personally have yet to buy from the Ipsy offers they have Monday-Friday because I haven't found something I will personally use 24/7. I also can't get into buying kits that are sample sized, nice try Ipsy! You won't get this gal too easily ;)


I do admit I sat on getting a new flat iron too long and missed out on a great deal for something I would use all the time. Oops!

Tips For The Impulse Buyer

  • There will always be cash back offers every month, there will always be Ipsy offers Monday-Friday, and that means even though the offers are exclusive they aren't necessarily unique. More than likely they will come back. Coming across full-size offers isn't out of the normal so don't just buy because it's a day out of the week it's completely full-size.
  • Don't follow them on Snapchat, Instagram, or Facebook unless you have enough control to not be sucked into their swatch videos on upcoming deals.

2. Their cashback rewards are offered at products that don't fit my budget comfortably

In other words, I'd rather go shop for palettes of eyeshadow or lip gloss with ColourPop or BH Cosmetics, because it's cheaper than these cash back reward deals (and I get more product). However, not everyone is restricted to my budget, so it might work out for you.

3. At times you will get products that were made in China but designed in the USA

I personally hate that. I like my makeup being made in the USA, France, or Italy. So just sayin' that ain't cool Ipsy. Most of the products that are made in China but designed in the USA aren't cruelty free. If they're gonna throw that at me then please, let me know the grade they got in their quality control inspection. Let's face it who wants to use eyeshadow from a company in China: if the warehouse they make it in could be full of rat fecal matter, roaches, or chemicals that harm our skin. I pass on made in China products.

What I've Gotten In My Glam Bags

August 2017
I got the Peace, Love, & Lipstick glam bag. Their theme of the month was "Good Vibes Only". The products I received were: Promise Organic Nourishing Coconut Facial Cream With Hibiscus, Make Up Forever Excessive Lash, Be A Bombshell Cosmetics Eyeshadow, Hey Honey: Come Clean Propolis & Mineral Facial Scrub, and Steve Laurant Precision Tip Liner in Black.


23846429_325867387894490_634566958_n.jpg

I was able to use the samples of the facial products 2-3 times on my face. They were actually very fun to use but I have yet to buy a full-size product from either of the facial products listed above. If I were I would go with Hey Honey because the scrub pushes out impurities without hurting sensitive skin or drying.

Be A...Bombshell Cosmetics I refused to wear after I caught in fine print that it was made in China but designed in the USA. Also the shade I got was terrible, it wasn't too pigmented, and didn't compliment my skin tone well. Make Up Forever Excessive Lash was okay. I wouldn't buy full size of it because I feel there are other mascaras out there that give you more excessive lash than that one. The Steve Laurant Precision Tip Liner in Black I'm still using. It's actually not too bad the precision tip is true and very precise.

September 2017
The theme was "Like. A. Boss" and I received from them: Teeez Cosmetics Ready to Wear Lipstick in Romantic Red, Manefit Beauty Planner Mask (2) in Mugwort w/ Astringent and Lily Whitening & Brightening, Tarte Lights, Cameras, Lashes, Adesse Organic New York nail polish gel effect in Deception, and Beauty for Real in Jade eyeliner.

So as I discussed I have a sensitive water line so I contacted customer support that month requesting not to get mascara anymore. However, the lipstick I had already pictured above, and the eyeliner I've been using a lot. I will definitely buy from beauty for real when I run out of Jade. I enjoyed the adventurous look you can achieve with green eyeliner (I have brown eyes).
 

October 2017
Their theme was "spellbound" and I received from them: (the best glam bag EVER) Meech and Mia loose eyeshadow in beige, BioRepublic SkinCare sheet mask duo, Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencil in Perversion, It Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Pressed Powder, Essence Cosmetics blush in Satin Coral. Okay October's glam bag was lit. As of right now it is the favorite one I received so far. Everything was just perfect and felt very customized for me and accurate to my beauty profile.

Yes all of those were amazing. Check out these swatches. Pictured below from left to right is: Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencil in Perversion, Essence Cosmetics Satin Coral Blush, and Meech and Mia loose eyeshadow in beige.

 

November 2017:
This month's theme was "All You" I got the mustard/gold bag: I received the following products Glamour Dolls x Lisa Frank Bitten and Bronzed Matte Bronzer, MudMasky Facial Purifying Recovery Mask, ColourPop Cosmetics pressed powder in Come and Get It,  MANNA KADAR COSMETICS lip gloss in Pinot Noir, and Deluxe Amazonian 12-Hour Clay Blush in Quirky by Tarte.

Okay, here's a major tip and F.Y.I. that I hope you take to heart. I used the MudMasky mask and I was like oh this isn't so bad. I got three and 1/2 uses out of it. It's not the best mask I've used but I could see myself buying it. I was curious about it. I noticed Ipsy was offering cashback on their product but after seeing the price I laughed. See how sometimes the cash back rewards don't fit everyone's budget?

When I mentioned it's not the best mask I've used it's because I use one that is my ultimate favorite that only costs $10.00 for a pound of it. Imagine that MudMasky, imagine that.

So if you're looking for a great affordable mask that is actually great for your face. Here ya go ladies and gentlemen. Please just buy this one instead it'll save you money and use organic mother apple cider vinegar when mixing it. You can get it shipped to your house through Amazon. 

 October still remains my favorite glam bag though. The Lisa Frank collab was so cute because of the packaging. However the lip gloss I got don't buy it. It's way TOO sticky. And you can never go wrong with anything from ColourPop or Tarte. Here are some swatches from left to right: Come & Get It by ColourPop, Pinot Noir by Manna Kadar, Tarte 12-Hour Amazonian Clay Blush in Quirky, and Lisa Frank x Glamour Dolls Bitten & Bronzed Matte Bronzer. I got a tan this year so some of them aren't as pigmented because of that (sorry!). 

If you are interested in getting an Ipsy subscription consider using my link if you found this article useful and insightful: Join Ipsy, today by clicking here. Follow me @camposmusing on Steemit, Instagram, and comment below.
Sort:  

This is great information I use to be a member of ipsy but never really gave them a chance maybe ill check it out again its very big in youtube community

Hi @raineej, yes it is very big in the YouTube community. Revealing your ipsy subscription on that platform generates creators a lot of views, ad revenue, and money. However, it can get repetitive at times, and if anyone ever does want to subscribe they don't really give a lot of details it's mostly show and tell.

I recommend Ipsy for those who are still trying to figure out what makeup is best for their personal beauty needs in regards to brands. It can be a good Holiday stocking stuffer or Birthday Gift. Thank you for reading and I am glad you found it useful. :)

very true its built for beginners for sure!!!

Hi .

Love your feedback about Ipsy ! Btw I just bought that Tarte’s mascara, kinda excited to try it out. Please kindly check my recent beauty blog if you’re free ☺️ Thanks !

Congratulations @camposmusing, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2275 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $968.87. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62