You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Beauty Matters

in #beauty6 years ago

I agree with this

objective beauty is found in architecture, paintings and music that is not only appreciated today in a certain time in a certain place by someone...but across diverse people and across time

But putting the lack of proper art as a possible cause of increase in suicides is an extremely long shot in my opinion.

We can find good art if we want too, in fact, I believe it is easier than ever to find good art today thanks to the internet.

Comparing Montreal with Rome is a little unfair haha, Rome is an historic place with incredible history, while Montreal is a normal modern city, that I am sure is not ugly at all and probably people in Montreal have better lives than people in Rome, but that when it comes to competing with Rome and with its classical looks, well there is no competition at all.

In the last century we gave up on the idea of beauty in art, beauty in our neighborhood and our churches

I am not sure if I agree with this.

For example, with churches, perhaps the lack of beauty in the designs is because the lack of funds.

And about neighborhoods I think that it also depends. There is ugly ones and pretty ones after all.

Sort:  

I don't think it's such a long shot. We are incredibly conditioned by out environments, and if everything around is essentially preaching ugliness, meaninglessness, and nihilism, that will definitely start to affect the psyche.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89