Beautiful Dangerous

in #beauty5 years ago

For the past few weeks, I've been writing a beauty series for the @adsactly blog, which is something I never thought I'd do, tbh. But I figured, in the past 6 years or so, having problematic skin, I've read a huge number of publications and recipes and blogs that deal with beauty and different (esp. natural) tips and tricks. And I'm enjoying writing my own tremendously, because beauty is a subject I really love.

I just read this badass rant by @eveuncovered about this distorted image the market is pushing nowadays - this accept yourself crap, a glorification of pimples and fat and stretchmarks and saggy boobs. Check it.
Anyway, it's something I agree with, because I do think you should work to solve the issues you have with yourself. Seriously, if you need a magazine to tell you it's okay to have zits, you're not okay with yourself.


62035756_304779507130313_3301745607604961280_n.jpg

That knowledge needs to come from within. After years and years of dealing with acne, I've reached a peace with myself. Sure, I still have zits, and occasionally, one gets me down. But mostly, I no longer give a shit. I like myself, I really do. It's not some cliche or empty phrase we say to convince ourselves. Honestly, I don't really give a flying fuck if I have a pimple or my skin's a bit oily or...I've given up on that constant worrying about how I look.

I look good and I know that. I honestly believe it's not the looks, it's the attitude. If you feel like a million bucks, people are going to see you as a million bucks. Ironically, you can have the perfect painted face and fancy clothes and if you feel shitty and insecure, people won't pay much attention to you. It's not about pimples.

Or about stretch-marks.

It's about looking people in the eye. It's about not cowering like a little fucking mouse. It's about an added bit of wild.

And it's strange because so many girls (particularly girls, though boys too) seem to think it's about the looks, that somehow if you put a lot of crap on your skin and if you wear fancy clothes, people are going to treat you how you want to be treated.

No.

You have to treat yourself the way you want to be treated. Once you do, the rest will just follow suit.

Cheers,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

When someone is comfortable in who they are, then you can look at them with anything you might consider a fault in yourself (the acne, stretch marks or scars might even be worse than your own) and suddenly realise that they wear it well and it's not a fault at all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. Faults fade in front of attitude 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Never underestimate the attractiveness of crazy! ;) Be different.
(K... probably just me. You may not want to use that as advise for winding up with a 'real' man in your life! 😂)

But if I didn't wind him up, where would be the fun? 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, you twisted my words! ...'Atta girl! 😁

Come on, like you weren't thinking the same thing :P

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87