Borrowed Beauty: Skies and Eyes

in #beauty6 years ago (edited)

Hello again earthlings!

If you have read my self-intro (http://steem.link/708zg), you may recall I mentioned being someone who enjoys the art of makeup. It doesn't matter if it's the casual everyday look or a red-carpet ready look or even if it's a look fit for an intergalactic princess in a sci-fi movie... Makeup is art and the face is your canvas!

Another thing I am fond of are bursts of color in our Earth's sky. I was lucky enough to take a photo of this seaside sunrise that crept on the horizon at the pier of Ozamiz City. My little iPhone 4s camera allowed me to capture the golden hues of the sun that was devouring the remaining tender darkness of the nighttime sky.
I most definitely had to get that elysian sky translated into my face. This sunrise filled me with so much excitement and a surge of motivation that it made me want to offer myself to whichever sky and sea gods would take me. All so I can try and imitate the timeless beauty of the sunrise.

It is not an easy task to try and mimic a semblance of life's graces when you have little-to-nothing artistic skills, but I wanted to try, so try I did. I wanted to capture the vibrancy of a new day and the quiet of the end of night by using blues, pinks, purples and orange eyeshadow. I attempted a cut-crease technique for the first-time for this particular makeup look and ended up doing two: a subtle, well-blended purple one and a sharp blue one to block out the outer curve of my eyes.
The finished look was topped off with subtle highlight, lightweight blush, and a coral lip. The whole process of borrowing the beauty of the sky took me about 4 hours to finish, my hand was heavy as lead at the end of it! Heavy hand but a fulfilled heart.

How did I do? Did I give the scenery justice? Spill your thoughts about it, I'm up for suggestions. Have you also experienced a "life-imitates-art" moment?

XoXo,

Lilacbeams!

Sort:  

nice tailored post. keep steeming. god bless you always.

Thank you! :)

Now in the process of selecting finalists, and final call for entries, see March Art Madness link below for tips and details:


http://steemit.com/stateofthearts/@stateofthearts/your-votes-begin-here-and-now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82