What's In A Name?

in #becoming6 years ago (edited)

That's a pretty big question for a gal with a decidedly full epithet.

ZIP•PO•RAH – three, whole syllables forming a combination of sounds not often strung together.

Add my first to middle and last and you get the bounciest pattern that might've been penned by Dr. Seuss himself. I joke that my parents must've wanted your mouth to make every shape when you say it – I imagine one of those follow-along bouncing balls dancing over the letters – a little visual indicator of its rhythmic character.

ZIP • PO • RAH • NA • O • MI • LO • MAX

That's just the sound of it, never-mind the meaning and origin. It's a lot of name to live up to – a lot of information to repeat – each and every time I meet someone new.


As a child, and well into my teens, I was known simply as Zip. Kids had a field day with that – how could you not? In classrooms full of names they'd all heard a dozen times before, mine was ripe for the pickin'.

Weary of the teasing, at age 11, I tried on a different self, adopting my middle name, Naomi, instead. I thought it'd be safer, somehow, but it didn't last more than a year as I quickly discovered that kids were just as creative with that one. So – Zip Lomax it was – for another few years, at least.

At about 16, I finally began to appreciate the gift of my name's individuality. At that age, as I grappled with youthful self-discovery, claiming my uniqueness felt important – and brave.

Zipporah sounded so..mature. It felt significant and intriguing and full of promise – as though it belonged on a marquee – while Zip conveyed a strange finality. It sounded diminutive and flat and oddly empty – zip, zilch, zero. For a kid with her whole, unimaginable life ahead of her, the latter seemed an ill-choice of moniker, so I began insisting people use my full name.

I imagined growing up would mean becoming a woman whose countenance and persona embodied the mystique of my given name – someone befitting such a unique mouthful of letters. I believed I had to grow into it – to make myself so immense in my accomplishments that I would feel worthy of the weight of it – that I had to be truly extraordinary to rightfully dress myself in the charming sound of it.

Such a grandiose, adolescent idea, that – such an impossible standard to live up to.

Not to say that I've failed, by any means, only that I recognize how hard I've been on myself – how unfairly I've admonished myself for not quite living up to my own inflated sense of who I might've become.

The truth is – very few people call me Zipporah. No matter how many times I introduce myself, everyone seems to naturally shorten it anyway. Ignoring that obvious fact, I've continued presenting myself as that imaginary person, hoping fake-it-til-you-make-it would find me someday believing I was her.

I've been traipsing around with this over-sized name, expecting myself to embody its remarkable fullness, wondering why I'm always tripping over myself, instead.


Now – at 42, I finally get itgrowing up means letting go of all those outdated notions of who I'm supposed to be – softening into who I am – relaxing into what is by daring to acknowledge...

...my most youthful, light-hearted self is, in fact, my most authentic.

All those years ago, when I was Zip, my big brother, Zed, was the only one who called me something else. We were the two z's – Zeddy & Zippy – playful expressions of closeness.

I'm not sure when everyone else starting calling me that, too. Yet it has become the sound most commonly associated with me.


It took me a while to see it, as so often happens when you set your sights too high – you miss the thing that is right beneath your nose.

I'm rather amused by my lengthy oversight – it's been there the whole time, cozily nestled halfway between Zip and Zipporah – waiting for me to stop reaching so far afield – knowing I'd eventually remember who I am.

Zippy – sounds so whimsically alive – so playful and light – so alert and present. Feels appropriate and effortless. An absolute perfect fit.

Not so unlike Goldilocks and her third-time-charms – after a few ill-fitting tries – I've finally found my 'just right'.

#introduceyourself #becomingzippy


In the spirit of full transparency/disclosure – I penned this piece just shy of my 41st birthday, shortly following the launch of my new website. I'd only intended to briefly explain my reasons for rebranding, yet this introspective piece spilled out. As I'm just beginning to dip my toes in here, this felt like a good one to share (and an excellent opportunity to practice markdown styling!) The original content has been modified somewhat for this space.

Sort:  

You have a cool nickname, Zip Lomax! Saying your name while eyes closed feels like I'm watching a kid superhero! maybe it's just me and my imagination. Haha! Sorry if I may offend you but I mean not. :)

Ha! No offense taken! 😉 I used to think it sounded like a prescription drug — ZipLomax — so similar to Zithromax! 😂😂😂

Haha. Yeah, it does!

Check it out, @sumatranate – your gifted markdown course in action. *side note – I sent you a list of found typos. ;) Check your email!

Lovely piece :) .. also, good job with the markdown formatting! Looks like a pro.

Thank you @saradear! I think I'm finally getting the hang of basic html as well. Excited to practice more on future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71030.89
ETH 3824.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52