Bedtime Facts (157/365)

Image Credit

Lahti, Finland, was hotter than Madrid, Rome, Budapest and Belgrade today

Maximum temperatures on May 14 2018:

Lahti, Finland: 28 C
Madrid, Spain: 18 C
Rome, Italy: 19 C
Budapest, Hungary: 21 C
Belgrade, Serbia: 21 C

Sources:

Lahti
Madrid
Rome
Budapest
Belgrade

Sort:  

9 degrees here today. You guys are having nice weather.

I don't complain except that it's hot in the house also at night. Relative humidity is fortunately about 20% in the afternoon.

I looked at the climate data of where you live. The average high in May is 19 C. It means that you are having a cold snap.

Yes. you could say that. Must be snow on the mountains I think.

Moi ! Kuis hurisee? :)

28 is hot! We had 20 yesterday and it's 18 today here in Scotland.

I am curious, when does the snow melt in your part of Finland. I know that winter is very cold and dark but summers are really hot, with thunderstorms, right?

Moi vaan!

The time when the snow melts varies a lot but it's in the first week of April on average. There was a major snow storm on April 2 this year. I went skiing the next day and the skiing trails were in perfect condition. Most of the snow was gone in about a week after that.

The summers are not really hot. The average daily maximum is about 23 C where I live in July. Thunderstorms usually come after warm spells. Winters can be very cold (-20 C to -30 C) or the temperature can hover near zero for weeks on end. It's all highly variable. The daily (24 h) average varies between about -5 Cto -10 C in January to about 10 C to 17 C in July. The summers can be anything between rainy and cool to all sunshine and heat.

In Scotland, summer days are usually clearly cooler than in southern Finland.

Kiitos!

I am sure that Finnish weather would suit me better. I love snow and I could do with warmer summers. I don't mind Scottish weather because I don't like when it gets too hot and it almost never does in here. :D
At the same time, I would prefer it slightly warmer and I miss thunderstorms.

In Poland, where I come from, there are many thunderstorms, especially in the spring. In the Uk, people call it a thunderstorm when it rains and you get some lightning maybe 3 or 4 times. This happens once a year in my experience.

What I love about Scottish weather are mist and low clouds. They look so awesome, especially when viewed from the top of the hill. Another thing I really enjoy is how much weather changes all the time. We get a lot of rainbows, especially in spring and autumn. :)

It was 31 oC here

The weather you have for the blogs I've seen is really good, here in Venezuela the temperature on Monday was 33 ℃ and there was a lot of rain, it is interesting to know how is the weather in other parts of the world

Is it raining on a daily basis there now?

The weather here varied a lot "Yesterday there was heavy rain but today it was clear, with cloudy intervals

Rendering a video on my PC while it's 27C outside isn't a nice experience...

wow 37C ° here, that explains a lot, today there was a horrible heat, all the people who entered the store complained about it, and they stayed over the account we have 3 a/c full in the store and some after buying they were talking among themselves leeches :), I only joke we love all our customers. well 28C° and still does not start summer.

Yes, today it has been really hot :o, from last couple of years this time of the year usually it rains/snow storm(from Fb on this day feature). I dont know whats going on with these raising temperatures in Finland :o :D

I haven't seen any significant snowfall in May since the late 1990's. Snowfall in the south of the country is unusual in mid-May but certainly possible. In the past five years, I have also seen temperatures close to 30 C in late May. It is nothing exceptional. Welcome to the 60th northern latitude. The weather up here is extremely variable depending on the time of year and larger short-lived patterns in the atmosphere.

thanks for this information... :)

Congratulations @markkujantunen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97