Sad Day at the Other Bee YardsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #beekeeping7 years ago

No pictures today, but I went to my other bee yard to do some quick inspections. All my colonies are dead. All.

I haven't done a post mortem yet. But, I have to say that I suspect that it may be due to my own mismanagement and that's the only thing I can actually control. So I have to do better. The varroa mite may be a cause, likely it is. Or I may have had some mice get inside hive (again that's mismanagement on my part).

Regardless, as euphoric as yesterday was at bee yard number one, today was quite disappointing.

I went into the winter with 22 colonies and now I'm down to seven. Not my worst year ever, but it was a lot worse than I expected.

Sort:  

That's sad, very sad. I feel for you.
My mother lost three this winter.

That is so sad. I am looking forward to caring for bees so please share the cause so we can all be better over wintering. Thx for all you post!

I am so sad for you. I am sure you have ventured into the role of a beekeeper with the expectation of helping our bee problem. I was considering bees because I have a yard full of pollinators. I have not yet taken the next step so I applaud your willingness to try.

I have yet to try beekeeping. It will be something I venture to do once I'm settled in my own house. I'm sorry to hear that you love so many colonies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55